Library Home

Databases Archives

This page contains an archive of all entries posted to Luria Library in the Databases category. They are listed from oldest to newest.

Books is the previous category.

Events is the next category.

Many more can be found on the main index page or by looking through the archives.

September 13, 2007

Finding Journals and Magazines

Are you looking for a specific magazine or journal and want to know if the Luria Library owns a copy? Do you want to see what journals or magazines are available on a specific subject? Try our new A-Z List of Journal and Periodical Holdings Updated: Magazines and Journals by Title. Over the summer we purchased this new product to help us find the journals, magazines, and newspapers in our collection (both print and electronic). Because we have 12,180 titles available in 11 different databases, this tool is important for cross searching the databases for titles. The new product is available on our Databases page. You may also encounter a button called Article Linker from within one of our databases that will search the A-Z List when full text is not available in that database, but may be available in another or in the library. The library staff may be customizing the List over the coming months, but it is available today for you to search. If you have suggestions or questions, please let us know.

October 24, 2007

5 Trillion Words

OK, last week I gave you Professor Welsh's take on classrooms and students. Here is another video from his digital ethnography project at Kansas State University. Introducing Information R/evolution:




Obviously, this one has a greater impact and relationship to libraries. We provide you with information in traditional methods and are also expanding services to the digital environment. Will information continue to need organization in order to be useful? Just last week I was at a library database vendor focus group where they are exploring this idea of a single search box. Will it sufficient for research?

May 1, 2008

Luria Library announces move to EBSCOhost

Beginning on July 1, 2008, the Luria Library will use EBSCOhost as our lead online article vendor. After nearly a decade of using ProQuest, we will begin to use the world’s most comprehensive scholarly full-text database, providing twenty unique databases for our students, faculty, and staff. With over 12,000 publications indexed and over 8,000 full text publications, students will have easy access to the highest ranked journals in many disciplines. According to a Library Journal survey, EBSCOhost is the “overwhelmingly” most used for-fee online research tool in the universities in the United States. EBSCOhost databases include:

Continue reading "Luria Library announces move to EBSCOhost" »

July 16, 2008

Try our New Database

Our new databases are available for you to use and explore. Give it a try:






September 3, 2008

Academic Search Premier

Due to our subscription cancellation of ProQuest, we have added the EbscoHost collection of databases to our electronic offerings. With this new array of products, we have been able to add thousands of additional full text journals to the collection and can easily integrate with our print collection. If you haven't had a chance to review any of the new products, such as Academic Search Premier, start with this short PowerPoint presentation.


October 17, 2008

Database Feature - Literature Resource Center

If you are doing any type of research on authors or are in need of literary criticism, then the following datebase is for you. Check it out.

icon_litrc.gif Literature Resource Center Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Stop by the Reference Desk or use one of the other methods to contact us. If you are already familiar with this product, check out the new interface and post your comments below; we are still trying to decide if this will be a permanent interface for us.

November 17, 2008

ARTstor - Image Material for Research

g-artstor-logo.gif

The Luria Library is happy to provide one of the leading academic image databases for students at SBCC.

ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

The ARTstor Digital Library is used by educators, scholars, and students at a variety of institutions including universities, colleges, museums, public libraries, and K-12 schools. The Digital Library serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts. This includes historians of art and architecture and others engaged in the visual arts, as well as individuals in fields as diverse as American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Literary Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Religious Studies, and Renaissance Studies, all of whom find the images in ARTstor to be relevant to their teaching and research. To learn more, please see our section on Interdisciplinary uses.

This product is available for all students, faculty, and staff. If you'd like to learn more, you can watch the video below or use one of the many handouts available from ARTstor.

October 1, 2009

Take a look at "Burn this Book"

NetLibrary eBook of the Month

In coordination with Banned Books Week: Celebrating the Freedom to Read, Luria Library is pleased to announce that Burn This Bookwill be available as the October eBook of the Month - free to all readers.

Published in conjunction with the PEN American Center, Burn This Book explores the meaning of censorship, and the power of literature to inform the way we see the world, and ourselves. Contributors including Toni Morrison, Salman Rushdie, Orhan Pamuk, David Grossman, Nadine Gordimer and other literary heavyweights, discuss the importance of writing from various views, both political and social. They illustrate the need for freedom of speech and human rights, and they emphasize the target writers become in a tyranny.

Continue reading "Take a look at "Burn this Book"" »

Connect @ the Library

Live Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.


Campus Links

Library 365

www.flickr.com
This is a Flickr badge showing items in a set called Library 365. Make your own badge here.

Recent Book Additions

Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday
7:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday
1:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Closed Saturdays and Holidays
find_us_on_facebook_badge.gif