Choose a Database or Subject Area
Database descriptions are available.
EBSCOhost owned databases are available on a Blackberry or iPhone. Bookmark the Mobile Version of Databases.
Most materials in the Luria Library subscription databases are from print sources that have been made available online. To use the subscription databases, you must be a member of the SBCC community. You will need your Pipeline account information to access databases from off-campus. When off-campus, you should see a login screen that looks like this at the start of each session.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Provides abstracts for articles from nearly 13,200 periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers) in all subject areas, and full text articles from nearly 8,750 periodicals, including more than 7,550 peer-reviewed journals. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Full text PDF content dates back as far as 1887.
Alexander – Ethnographic Video Online (Alexander Street)
Provides videos for the study of human culture and behavior, covering every region of the world and featuring the work of many influential documentary filmmakers. Thematic areas include families, gender roles, race, language and body language, food, economic systems, social status, political organization, conflict, religion, music, and the arts. This continually expanding database currently provides 803 videos totaling roughly 548 hours, as well as field notes and study guides.
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCOhost)
Provides articles covering many perspectives on complementary, alternative, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full text articles for more than 180 journals and reports, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Includes abstracts of articles going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Provides full-text coverage of more than 200 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) and nearly 100 books, and selective indexing for 1,700 periodicals from 1955 to the present.
AP NewsMonitor Collection (EBSCOhost)
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis. Includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports. Immediate access to linked full text. The index to the full text content in AP News is held for a rolling 30-day archive, providing 30 days of news relating to your search interests.
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with a suite of software tools for teaching and research. The collections include contributions from international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists.
Auto Repair Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Contains information on more than 37,000 domestic and imported vehicles from 1954 to present. All of the content has been created by ASE certified technicians, including general information about how cars work, millions of vehicle-specific drawings and step-by-step photographs, technical service bulletins and recalls issued by manufacturers, wiring diagrams, specifications and maintenance schedules, labor time estimates, guides to ownership and maintenance, and diagnostic information. New repair procedures, TSBs, and updates are continually added to the database.
Baker & Taylor Title Source 3 (Baker & Taylor)
Provides reviews on books and audio books in all subject areas and genres. Note: On-campus access only. When finished, click LOGOUT in upper left corner.
BIR Entertainment (EBSCOhost)
Provides information about approximately 450,000 music titles and 200,000 DVD/video titles (not the music or DVD/videos themselves). Use BIR to find music or videos featuring a favorite artist or performer, or a specific genre.
Book Index with Reviews (BIR) (EBSCOhost)
Provides information about over 5 million book titles, in a wide range of formats (not the books themselves). Also contains almost 800,000 full-text searchable book reviews from Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist and others.
Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)
Provides abstracts and full text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers), in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes the full text of nearly 2,000 peer reviewed journals and more than 1,700 trade journals and general business magazines. Other full text content includes: more than one million company profiles; nearly 20,000 industry reports; nearly 2,400 market research reports; more than 3,300 SWOT analyses; more than 5,000 case studies; more than 1,600 country economic reports; and nearly 1,000 books. Also includes searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals, faculty seminar videos, interviews, and author profiles. Full text content dates back as far as 1886.
CHOICE Reviews Online (ALA)
A premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year Choice publishes more than 7,000 reviews. Note: On-campus access only.
Chronicle of Higher Education (EBSCOhost)
Full text access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, from 1999 to the present, available through the Professional Development Collection database.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Provides full text for more than 770 journals and more than 275 books/monographs, and indexing for more than 4,600 journals. Contains more than 2.8 million records dating back to 1981, with full-text coverage dating back to 1937. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,350 journals are also included.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)
Provides full-text articles from over 450 journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Also provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). Includes over 5,400 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information for the most frequently searched for authors in the database.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text consumer-oriented health content, covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children’s health, men and women’s health, etc. Features more than 700 physician-generated videos with full-text transcripts and 248 animations. Includes up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
Country Watch (Country Watch)
Contains information about countries, including news on the latest political, economic, corporate, and environmental events as they occur, and detailed geographical, political, economic, corporate, and environmental briefings.
CQ Global Researcher (Sage)
Contains reports, published monthly, covering pressing political, social, environmental, and regional issues from around the globe, written by journalists with years of international experience. Each report includes sections such as “Issue Questions” and “Pro-Con,” along with chronologies of major events, excerpts from primary source materials, visual aides such as maps, charts, and graphs, and a glossary and bibliography.
CQ Researcher Online (Sage)
An excellent source of pro/con information, containing single-themed reports on issues in the news. Provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of both sides of controversial issues related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each 12,000-word report includes: an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Offers access to CQ Researcher reports dating back to 1991.
Credo Reference (Credo Reference)
Contains the full text of nearly 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Thousands of Topics Pages provide articles from different reference sources, arranged by subject. Includes “gadgets” for finding images, definitions, people, pronunciations, quotations, and measurement conversations, as well as a concept map feature for help identifying keywords and broadening or narrowing a topic. Additional features include videos, maps, and animations.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
A collection of over 22,000 electronic books, in all subject areas, selected for the Luria Library collection. Books can be searched either through this database, or through the library catalog (the “books” tab on the homepage).
ebrary College Complete (ProQuest)
Provides unlimited, multi-use access to more than 26,800 ebooks in a range of subject areas, such as business, computer science, and health.
Comprehensive education database, providing access to education literature and resources, including hundreds of scholarly education journals. Contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (EBSCOhost)
Comprehensive index (no full text) of European works that relate to the Americas. Contains more than 32,000 entries describing printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Created from the bibliography “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.”
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCOhost)
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedia entries covering a range of topics. Contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
Gale Literary Databases (Gale)
Searches three databases at once: Contemporary Authors, which provides information on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors and their works; Contemporary Literary Criticism-Select, which includes more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information; and Dictionary of Literary Biography, which provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
Contains the full text of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, government and political science, religion, science, and social sciences.
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women’s movement, men’s studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Includes full-text authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and multimedia. Includes dozens of topic overviews covering issues such as energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development, as well as information arranged by geographical location.
Health Resources (EBSCOhost)
Searches the following EBSCOhost health, nursing, and medicine databases at once: Alt HealthWatch; CINAHL Plus with Full Text; Health Source – Consumer Edition; Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition; and MEDLINE.
Health Source – Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost)
Contains nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
History Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Covers all time periods of U.S. and World History. Provides full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, and cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals). Includes primary source material such as historical documents, photos, and maps. Also includes biographies of historical figures, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
InfoTrac Educators Collection (Gale)
Provides abstracts and full text articles from almost 300 magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers, in the fields of education, technology, library science, coaching, and parenting.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Contains more than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
Contains articles from hundreds of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Full text articles are available, from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. Note: The Luria Library subscription includes three of JSTOR’s collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences; and the following individual journals: Asian Survey; Film Quarterly; Mathematics Magazine; Nineteenth-Century Literature; and The Western Historical Quarterly.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Provides information about articles in librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, and information management, published as far back as the mid-1960s. Indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
Contains literary criticism of fiction, short stories, and dramas from the nineteenth century to the present. Provides online access to Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism, and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, which include author overviews, work overviews, and literary criticism originally published in scholarly journals. Note: This database does not cover poetry. For poetry criticism, go to Literature Resource Center or Literature Resources from Gale.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Provides information about authors and their works. Covers more than 130,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalist, and other writers, in all genres and disciplines, from all time periods and all parts of the world. Provides full text biographical information, work overviews, literary criticism, and reviews.
Literature Resources from Gale (Gale)
Searches Literature Resource Center, and books related to literature from the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Provides information about authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Includes full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest)
Provides the full text of articles from the Los Angeles Times from 1988 to the present.
MagillOnLiterature Plus (EBSCOhost)
Contains information about literary works and authors. Provides editorially reviewed critical essays, brief plot summaries, extended character profiles, and detailed setting discussions covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. Includes biographical essays and lists of authors’ principal works. Also includes a glossary of literary terms. In addition, 378 overview essays provide details about important literary genres, time periods, and national literatures.
MAS Ultra – School Edition (EBSCOhost)
A good source for advanced ESL (English as a Second Language) students. Contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines in a wide range of subject areas. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies and over 107,000 primary source documents. Also includes more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps and flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines. Note: Mas Ultra – School Edition and several other EBSCOhost databases are also available through the Student Research Center interface, which is designed for students in grades 6 through 12.
Master FILE Premier (EBSCOhost)
Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), some dating as far back as 1975. Subjects covered include general reference, business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues. Also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps, and flags.
Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Some full text articles are available. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCOhost)
Provides news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Includes periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), and other content, including cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 periodicals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar is a leading provider of independent investment research to investors around the world. Morninstar provides a series of comprehensive databases on many types of investments, focusing on investment vehicles that are widely used by investors globally.
National Newspapers Core (ProQuest)
Provides the full text of five of the most read and widely-respected newspapers in the U.S: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; and Washington Post.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOhost)
Provides the full text of more than 35 million articles from more than 860 U.S. and international newspapers, including: New York Times: Christian Science Monitor; San Francisco Chronicle; The Times (UK); USA Today; and The Washington Post. Also provides more than 857,000 full text television and radio news transcripts, including: ABC News; CBS News; CNBC; CNN and CNN International; FOX News; MSNBC; National Public Radio; and PBS.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
An excellent source of pro/con information, providing opinions and other information on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues. Includes continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online (Oxford University Press)
Provides over 5,000 articles from several sources, including The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Law, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, and What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam. Also provides the electronic version of A Concordance of the Qur’an, and a Verse Lookup tool that enables you to compare two English interpretations of the Qur’an. Additional resources include: interviews with scholars, religious leaders, and activists; images and maps; a timeline of major events in the history of Islam, and a section on the Arab Spring.
Primary Search (EBSCOhost)
A good source for ESL (English as a Second Language) students. Provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research, as well as a collection of photos, maps, and flags. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text information dates as far back as 1990. Note: Primary Search is also available through the Searchasaurus interface, which is designed for elementary school students.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)
Designed for professional educators. Provides full text articles from nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles, as well as more than 200 educational reports. Indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Full text information dates as far back as 1965.
Project MUSE (Project MUSE)
Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.
Contains more than 153,000 full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and related organizations. Includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to the first issue.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)
Includes nearly 560 full text publications, some dating back as far as 1965, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
RAND California Statistics
RAND California contains more than 170 databases in the categories. Much of the data are available at the national, state, county, and city levels. Data are updated on a regular basis.Business and Economics.
Community. Education. Energy and Environment. Government Finance. Health and Socioeconomic. Population and Demographics.
Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text articles from more than 80 regional business publications, covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text articles from more than 300 magazines and journals, covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for more than 400 journals dating as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
Scribner Writers Online (Gale)
Provides original, comprehensive, scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 authors from around the world and all time periods.
Searches several EBSCOhost resources at once, through an interface designed for elementary school students. It is possible to limit according to appropriate Lexile reading levels. The following resources are included: American Heritage Children’s Dictionary; Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia; and Primary Search.
Student Research Center (EBSCOhost)
Searches several EBSCOhost databases at once, through an interface designed for students in grades 6 through 12. It is possible to pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included in the search, and to limit according to appropriate Lexile reading levels. The following databases included: Academic Search Premier; Columbia Encyclopedia; ERIC; Health Source – Consumer Edition; History Reference Center; MagillOnLiterature Plus; MAS Ultra – School Edition; Newspaper Source Plus; and Professional Development Collection.
Twayne’s Authors Online (Gale)
Provides literary criticism, including introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.
Vocational & Career Collection (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) in a variety of occupational fields. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for over 600 journals. Full text information dates as far back as 1985.
Web News (EBSCOhost)
EBSCO’s News Harvester provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe. These feeds are monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes over 5,000 feeds across a range of business and general news topics.
World Book Advanced (World Book)
Contains more than 25,000 encyclopedia articles, as well as a vast collection of primary source documents and full-text ebooks. Also includes: dictionary and atlas content; local and country research guides; more than 10,000 sounds and pronunciations; and thousands of images, periodical articles, and links to editor-selected websites.