Health, Nursing, and Medicine Databases

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCOhost)
Provides articles covering many perspectives on complementary, alternative, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full text articles for more than 180 journals and reports, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Includes abstracts of articles going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Provides full text for more than 770 journals and more than 275 books/monographs, and indexing for more than 4,600 journals. Contains more than 2.8 million records dating back to 1981, with full-text coverage dating back to 1937. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,350 journals are also included.

Consumer Health Complete (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text consumer-oriented health content, covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics, children’s health, men and women’s health, etc. Features more than 700 physician-generated videos with full-text transcripts and 248 animations. Includes up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.

Health Resources (EBSCOhost)
Searches the following EBSCOhost health, nursing, and medicine databases at once: Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, Health Source – Consumer Edition, and MEDLINE.

Health Source – Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost)
Contains nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost)
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Some full text articles are available. Created by the National Library of Medicine.