Sociology, Social Sciences, and Pro-Con Databases

CQ Researcher Online (Sage)
An excellent source of pro/con information, containing single-themed reports on issues in the news. Provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of both sides of controversial issues related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each 12,000-word report includes: an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Offers access to CQ Researcher reports dating back to 1991, and access to CQ Global Researcher articles, which provide in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice and criminology field, with more than 320 full-text magazines and journals. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology. Subjects include corrections and prisons, criminal investigations, forensic sciences and investigation, substance abuse and addiction, probation and parole.

JSTOR (JSTOR)
Contains articles from hundreds of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Full text articles are available, from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago. Note: The Luria Library subscription includes three of JSTOR’s collections: Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III; and Life Sciences; and the following individual journals: Asian Survey; Film Quarterly; Mathematics Magazine; Nineteenth-Century Literature; and The Western Historical Quarterly.

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCOhost)
Provides the full text of more than 63 million full-text articles from more than 1,210 newspapers, more than 130 newswires, and nearly 50 news magazines. Newspapers include: Christian Science Monitor; The Times (UK); USA Today; and The Washington Post. Newswires include: AP (Associated Press); CNN Wire; PR Wire; UPI (United Press International); and Xinhua (China). Also provides more than 1.4 million TV & Radio News Transcripts from sources such as: ABC News; CBS News; CNBC; CNN and CNN International; FOX News; MSNBC; National Public Radio; and PBS.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
An excellent source of pro/con information, providing opinions and other information on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues. Includes continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Project MUSE (Project MUSE)
Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)
Includes nearly 560 full text publications, some dating back as far as 1965, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

RAND California Statistics (RAND)
RAND California contains more than 170 databases in the following categories: Business and Economics; Community; Education; Energy and Environment; Government Finance; Health and Socioeconomic; and Population and Demographics. Much of the data are available at the national, state, county, and city levels. Data are updated on a regular basis.

Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text articles from more than 300 magazines and journals, covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

US Newsstream (ProQuest)
Provides full-text access to current U.S. news content from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Archives dating back to the 1980s are also included. Specific titles include: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; Washington Post; and USA Today, as well as hundreds of local and regional newspapers.