ADC Resources for Research
About this guide
Students will find recommended print and electronic resources for research on issues in Addictive Disorders Counseling courses.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
Paper Writing Assistance:
Consult these campus resources for help with writing and editing:
About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource Center online writing tools
Need more help?
The following terminology is important to understand when doing research. Here is a “Glossary of Terms Used in Research” you might find valuable.
- Reference Books vs. Reserve vs. References (!)
- Periodicals: What they are and what are the different kinds?
- Catalog vs. Database
Print Reference Books
Print reference books are a good place to begin your research. For quick answers and facts, use these these excellent books in the library, behind the Reference Librarian, for short, credible answers to your questions.
You can take notes, or photocopy pages for ten cents a page. Examples of reference books are listed below:
- Addiction: a reference encyclopedia — R 616.86 P125a 2010. Also available online here
- The encyclopedia of psychoactive plants : ethnopharmacology and its applications — 615.78 R236e
- The encyclopedia of substance abuse prevention, treatment, & recovery — R 362.29 F533e 2009. Also available online here.
Online Reference Books
The library also subscribes to many online reference books. To access these resources from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information:
- Crisis intervention handbook : assessment, treatment, and research: This is a thorough revision of the first complete and authoritative handbook that prepares the crisis counselor for rapid assessment and timely crisis intervention.
- Drugs and Controlled Substances: Information for Students: “This single-volume resource provides detailed information on the physiological and psychological effects of addictive drugs and substances, from illegal drugs to commonly abused classes of prescription and over-the-counter drugs.”
- Encyclopedia of addictions: This two-volume resource contains frank and factual information about symptoms, causes, effects, prevention, and treatment of substance abuse and of behavioral addictions such as eating disorders, pathological gambling, and compulsive sexual activity.
Journal and magazine articles usually provide the most current information on a topic. Journal articles are more scholarly while magazine articles tend to be shorter and more general. Newspaper articles are the most current of the three periodical sources and another good source of information.
To find articles on your topic, use one of the online databases listed below. These databases usually provide full-text articles. Search in these databases by using subject headings, keywords and specific names of drugs, treatment programs, or individuals.
You can search for articles in our general database of periodicals: Academic Search Premier. You can also select a more specific database from these choices:
You can search the full-text of five major newspapers by selecting National Newspapers.
Finding Articles Cited in Bibliographies
The sources cited in a bibliography (also known as the References or Works Cited page) are good starting points for further research.
If you find a journal article in a bibliography, use the journals tab on the library home page and type the journal title (not the article title) in the search box. If the library has access to this particular journal, you will be directed to “search within this publication.” If we do not have full-text access to an article you need, you can utilize interlibrary loan.
Search the library catalog for print books and ebooks on your topic. If we don’t have what you need, you can get articles from other libraries by completing the Interlibrary loan — this may take from 5-10 days.
Can’t get to campus? You can search for eBooks (full books available online) only.
Quality Internet Resources
Keep in mind that there is a great deal of poor information on ADC topics online. This Guide to “Healthy Web Surfing” provides a good lesson in what to look for and avoid.
- BMC Pharmacology and Toxicology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on aspects of the discovery, design, uses, effects, modes of action and metabolism of chemically defined therapeutic and toxic agents.
- CASA (National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University) is a science-based, multidisciplinary organization focused on transforming society’s understanding of and responses to substance use and the disease of addiction. Check out the Reports under the heading “Library”. Most CASA reports are available below for free in .PDF format. Search for a specific title or to find information on a specific topic on the report page.
- MedlinePlus Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information is a section on the National Institutes of Health’s Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) NIAAA’s mission is to support and promote the best science on alcohol and health for the benefit of all by increasing the understanding of normal and abnormal biological functions and behavior relating to alcohol use, improving the diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of alcohol use disorders, and enhancing quality health care. The website offers links to other excellent sources and excellent publications.
- The NIAAA Alcohol Alert is a quarterly bulletin that disseminates important research findings on a single aspect of alcohol abuse and alcoholism.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is charged with trying to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America’s communities. SAMHSA was established in 1992 and directed by Congress to target effectively substance abuse and mental health services to the people most in need and to translate research in these areas more effectively and more rapidly into the general health care system.
- The Partnership at DrugFree.Org is a “drug abuse prevention, intervention, treatment and recovery resource, existing to help parents and caregivers effectively address alcohol and drug abuse with their teens and young adults.” Learn about their educational outreach programs and examine the Drug Guide for valuable information on the most commonly abused drugs.
Sources of statistics on addiction and drugs
- Drug Enforcement Agency
- National Institute on Drug Abuse
- Search all Federal government sites here
- RAND California Statistics
- American Counseling Association (ACA)
- American Mental Health Counselors Association (AMHCA)
- National Board for Certified Counselors
- National Institute on Drug Abuse
- NAADAC – The Association for Addiction Professionals
- The International Association of Addictions and Offender Counselors
- Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)
- Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (ACES)
- American School Counselor Association
Below are some resources for creating citations for sources found on the internet and through library databases. More resources are available on the Citation Guides page.