Bio-medical Sciences 127 – Medical Microbiology – Fischer

Scanning electron micrograph of Escherichia coli

Scanning electron micrograph of Escherichia coli from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

About this guide

This guide will help students locate credible sources for research in Bio-medical Sciences 127 with Professor Fischer. Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.

Paper Writing Assistance:

About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource Center writing tools online

Need more help?

If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, email, or chat for more help.Contact Us

Choosing Keywords

The words you use to describe your topic may be different from the words used in the library databases. Often the scientific term of a disease or organism will yield better results than the common name. Try experimenting with both. For example:

Lyme disease OR Lyme borreliosis OR Borrelia burgdorferi

Tip: Put quotation marks around terms that include multiple words, to be sure the search engine or database searches those words as a phrase. For example: “Borrelia burgdorferi”

Don’t know the scientific term for the disease you’re studying or the microorganism that causes it? You’ll probably be able to find it by doing a quick Google search. Or, you can search by the common name in the library’s reference database, Credo Reference.

Finding Books

Search the library catalog (books+) for books on your topic. The library’s collection includes both print books and online ebooks. Your search results will include articles as well, but searching for articles in library databases will allow you to use more search options. Limit to books by choosing the appropriate box from the menu to the left of the results.

Finding Articles

Try searching for articles using one of the following library databases:

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text Provides full text for more than 770 journals and more than 275 books covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
    Tip: Below the search box, limit your results by date, by checking the box for “Peer Reviewed Journals,” and by selecting “Evidence-Based Care Sheet,” “Review,” and “Systematic Review” under “Publication Type.” (To select more than one option from the drop-down menu, use ctrl-click on a PC or command-click on a PC.)
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
    Tip: Select “Advanced Search” under the search box, then limit your results by date, by checking the box for “Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals,” and by selecting “Review” under “Publication Type.”

Not finding what you need? Experiment with different search terms, or see the full list of Health, Nursing, and Medicine Databases for more options.

Finding Unreliable Sources

A basic Google search, using the common name of the disease you are studying, is likely to yield some incomplete or unreliable sources.

If you want to seek out sources that are likely to be especially unreliable, try finding information about your disease on websites that are known for inaccuracy and pseudoscience, like Natural News. For a list of many such websites, go to Media Bias/Fact Check and select Conspiracy-Pseudoscience from the menu across the top of the page. Then search for your disease on some of the individual websites listed.

Tip: If a particular website doesn’t have a search box, you can have Google search that website for you, by using this search structure: Lyme disease site:naturalnews.com

How to Cite

You will use APA citation style for your BMS 127 research assignment: