Biology 100 – Burnell – Research Paper
About this guide
This research guide will help students locate appropriate resources for research in Biology 100 with Professor Burnell.
Use the “tabs” above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
Research, in scientific sources, and write a 1200 – 1500 word paper on a topic dealing with one of the following: a specific disease or disorder; a community or ecosystem; or your favorite organism.
Paper Writing Assistance:
Consult these campus resources for help with writing and editing:
About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource Center writing tools online
Getting Started with Organism Research
Download the flow chart for organism research below for guidelines on finding information about organisms in the Luria Library resources.
Need more help?
Print Reference Sources
Reference books are a good place to begin your research, select a topic, or narrow a broad topic idea you have. These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section.
- McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology – R 503 M147 Great place to start!
- Encyclopedia of world environmental history – R 363.7003 K92e
- The facts on file dictionary of environmental science – R 363.7003 S847f
- A dictionary of ecology – R 577.03 A416d
- A science dictionary of the plant world: an illustrated demonstration of terms used in plant biology – R 581.03 C539s
- The encyclopedia of animals: a complete visual guide – R 590.3 C772e
- Walker’s mammals of the world – R 599 W178m 1999
- Magill’s medical guide – R 610 S163m
- Dorland’s illustrated medical dictionary – R 616.03 D711i
- Dirr’s Hardy trees and shrubs : an illustrated encyclopedia – R 635.977 D599h
Online Reference Sources
This online collection includes over 600 reference ebooks:
Magazine vs. Journal Articles
Before you search, you need to know the difference between “magazine” and “journal” articles. Journals are also referred to as “peer-reviewed” or “scholarly” sources.
A brief explanation can be found here:
Searching for Articles
Search for articles in any of the following search tools:
- The library catalog is a great place to start to search for both books and articles at once. When you review your search results, use the tools in the left-hand menu to limit your results to “full-text” articles within the last five years.
- Academic Search Premier is a general database that includes articles from periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers) in all subject areas.
- Science Full-Text Direct is a database of periodical articles on scientific topics.
- GreenFILE is another database of articles and other resources on environmental topics.
- Health Resources is a collection of databases that include articles and other resources on topics related to health, nursing, and medicine.
If you find a citation for an article we do not have full-text, you can request the article through Interlibrary loan.
Freely Online Collections
Online scientific journals can also be found in a number of freely-available collections:
- The Directory of Open Access Journals offers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages
- Highwire Press Journals is an archive of free, online scientific full-text articles.
- PLOS (Public Library of Science) One is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication, with primary research from any scientific discipline.
Finding Specific Journal Titles
What if your teacher gives you a specific journal title to search? You can search for a specific journal title at the eJournals tab on the library website.