Biology 161 – Belluzzi – DNA and Society
About this Guide
This research guide will help students locate appropriate resources for research in Biology 161 with Professor Belluzzi. Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
Paper Writing Assistance
Consult these campus resources for help with writing and editing:
About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource Center Writing Tools Online
Need More Help?
Interested in learning more about the library on your own?
Explore the library’s online tutorials.
Print Reference Sources
Reference books are a good place to begin your research, select a topics, or narrow a broad topic idea you have. These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section:
- A dictionary of ecology – R 577.03 A416d
- The encyclopedia of animals: A complete visual guide – R 590.3 C772e
- Walker’s mammals of the world – R 599 W178m 1999
- Dirr’s hardy trees and shrubs: An illustrated encyclopedia – R 635.977 D599h
Online Reference Sources
- Credo Reference is a database containing the full text of nearly 800 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas.
Magazine vs. Journal Articles
Before you search, you need to know the difference between “magazine” and “journal” articles. Journals can also be referred to as “scholarly” sources, and some are “peer reviewed”.
A brief explanation can be found here:
Searching for Articles
Search for articles in any of the following library databases or tools listed below.To access electronic sources from off campus, you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password:
- The library catalog (books+) is a great place to start. Use this tool to search for both books and articles at once. When you review your search results, use the tools in the left-hand menu to limit your results to “full-text” articles within the last five years.
- Academic Search Complete provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas.
- Science Full-Text Direct is a database of articles on scientific topics.
If you find a citation for an article we do not have full-text, you can request the article through Interlibrary loan. Students are advised to request loans early in the research process as loans can take three to ten days.
Freely Online Collections
Online scientific journals can also be found in a number of freely-available collections:
- Directory of Open Access Journals offers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
- Highwire Press Journals is an archive of free, online scientific full-text articles.
- PLOS (Public Library of Science) One is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication, with primary research from any scientific discipline.
Finding Specific Journal Titles
What if your teacher gives you a specific journal title to search? You can search for a specific journal title at the “Journals” tab on the library website.