Biology 161 – Belluzzi – DNA and Society
About this guide
This research guide will help students locate appropriate resources for research in Biology 161 with Professor Belluzzi. Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
Paper Writing Assistance:
Consult these campus resources for help with writing and editing:
About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource Center writing tools online
Need more help?
Print Reference Sources
Reference books are a good place to begin your research, select a topics, or narrow a broad topic idea you have. These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section.
- McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology – R 503 M147 Great place to start!
- Encyclopedia of world environmental history – R 363.7003 K92e
- A dictionary of ecology – R 577.03 A416d
- The encyclopedia of animals: a complete visual guide – R 590.3 C772e
- Walker’s mammals of the world – R 599 W178m 1999
- Dirr’s Hardy trees and shrubs : an illustrated encyclopedia – R 635.977 D599h
Online Reference Sources
Credo Reference: includes hundreds of reference sources.
Magazine vs. Journal Articles
Before you search, you need to know the difference between “magazine” and “journal” articles. Journals are also referred to as “peer-reviewed” or “scholarly” sources.
A brief explanation can be found here:
Searching for Articles
Search for articles in any of the following library databases or tools listed below:
- The library catalog is a great place to start. Use this tool to search for both books and articles at once. When you review your search results, use the tools in the left-hand menu to limit your results to “full-text” articles within the last five years.
- Academic Search Premier This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Science Full-Text Direct is a database of articles on scientific topics.
If you find a citation for an article we do not have full-text, you can request the article through Interlibrary loan.
Freely Online Collections
Online scientific journals can also be found in a number of freely-available collections:
- The Directory of Open Access Journals offers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages
- Highwire Press Journals is an archive of free, online scientific full-text articles.
- PLOS (Public Library of Science) One is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication, with primary research from any scientific discipline.
Finding Specific Journal Titles
What if your teacher gives you a specific journal title to search? You can search for a specific journal title at the “eJournals” tab on the library website.
How to Cite
The Purdue Online Writing Lab provides great guidance for proper APA citation. Use the specific links below to read more about how to cite different types of resources in APA format:
APA Writing Style Guide
Use this guide to help you format your paper in APA style .