Chicano Studies Resources
About this guide:
This guide helps students find print and electronic resources on topics regarding Chicano Studies. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of this guide.
Paper Writing Assistance:
Consult these campus resources for help with writing and editing:
About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource center writing tools online
Need more help?
These resources are available in the Reference section of the Luria Library:
- Dictionary of American History — R 973.03 A194d
- Dictionary of Chicano Folklore — R 398.0972 C355d
- Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society — R 305.8 S294e
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America — R 317.3 V413
- Hispanic Literature of the United States : A Comprehensive Reference — R 810.9868 K16h
- The Mexican American Experience : An Encyclopedia — R 973.04 M511m
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States — R 973.0468 O12e
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures : The Civilizations of Mexico and Central America — R 972.01 C313o
Luria Library also subscribes to many electronic reference sources. If you are off-campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline username and password to access these resources.
- Atlas of Hispanic-American History
- The Borderlands : An Encyclopedia of Culture and Politics on the U.S.-Mexico Divide
- Dictionary of Latino Civil Rights History
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
- Latinas in the United States: A Historic Encyclopedia
- Minorities: Race and Ethnicity in America
- Credo Reference is a collection of nearly 800 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Thousands of Topics Pages provide articles from different reference sources, arranged by subject.
Search the library catalog for books on your topic. Try searching with some of these keywords:
chicano* (searches chicano or chicanos)
mexican american women
mexican american men
chicano* and politics
chicano* and identity
Because of the range of names for groups with which people identify, you may also find useful sources with broader keywords such as ethnic studies, hispanic, latina, or latino.
Search for articles in these databases. Here, you’ll find academic/peer-reviewed articles as well as newspaper and magazine articles:
- Academic Search Premier: a great starting point for research on any topic.
- Ethnic NewsWatch: journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989.
- History Reference Center: this resource covers all time periods of U.S. and World History.
- JSTOR: Contains articles from hundreds of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Full text articles are available, from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago.
Use these resources to find primary source material:
- History Resource Center: Find primary sources in this library database. When you search for your topic, use the ADVANCED SEARCH and select PUBLICATION TYPE = PRIMARY SOURCE DOCUMENTS. Or you can select the PRIMARY SOURCES tab found in a list of results after your search.
- American Memory Project from the Library of Congress: This resource provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
- Calisphere: Contains text and images from California history and culture.
- Farmworker Movement Documentation Project: A collection of primary sources on the history of the United Farmworkers, from the UC San Diego Library.
- El Teatro Campesino special collection at UCSB
Figuring out whether the information you find online is credible enough for college research can be challenging. Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Source Evaluation Questions to help you determine whether the sources you find are credible:
- Purpose: How and why the source was created. Is it intended to educate, inform, persuade, sell, or entertain? Do the authors, publishers, or sponsors state this purpose, or try to disguise it? Why was this information published in this particular type of source (book, article, website, blog, etc.)? Is the source designed for the general public, students, or experts?
- Relevance: The value of the source for your needs. Does the type of source meet your assignment’s requirements? Does the information answer your question, support your argument, or add something to your knowledge of the topic? Is it too general or too specific? Is it too basic or too advanced?
- Objectivity: The reasonableness and completeness of the information. Do the authors present the information thoroughly and professionally? Is it fact or opinion? Is it biased? Do the authors use strong, emotional, manipulative, or offensive language? Do they leave out, or make fun of, important facts or alternative perspectives?
- Verifiability: The accuracy and truthfulness of the information. Do the authors support the information they present with strong factual evidence? Do they cite or provide links to other sources? What do experts say about the topic? Can you verify the information in other credible sources? Does the source contradict itself, include false statements, or misrepresent other sources?
- Expertise: The authority of the creators of the source. What makes the authors, publishers, or sponsors of the source authorities on the topic? Do they have related education, experience, or other expertise? Do they provide an important alternative perspective? Has the source been reviewed in some way, such as by an editor or through peer review?
- Newness: The age of the information. Is your topic in an area that requires current information (such as science, technology, or current events), or could information found in older sources still be useful? When was the information presented in the source first published or posted? Are newer sources available that would add important information to your understanding of the topic?
For more help locating reliable information online, see the Finding Credible Web Sources research guide.
Additional Information on the Web
Explore these resources for additional information:
- Chicano/a Movement in Washington State History Project: Excellent resources from the University of Washington with video interviews, newspaper articles, photos and more documenting the Chicano/a Movment.
- Making Face/Making Soul: A site by, for, and about Chicanas, meaning women of Mexican descent in the United States. This site contains a variety of resources ranging from short biographies of Chicanas, to Chicana poetry and literature, cultural resources, academic resources, otras chicanas on the ‘net, and more.
- UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center: Very active research center from UCLA.
- Brown Pride: A kaleidoscope of Chicana/o and Latina/o articles, music, art, and more.
- UCSB Chicano Studies Institute: Research arm of the Chicano Studies Dept at UCSB
- Chicana and Chicano Space: A resource for teachers, their students, and others interested in Chicana and Chicano art and culture.
How to Cite
Chicago citation style is commonly used in the humanities, especially for history research papers. The following resources will help you construct Chicago-style citations:
- General Chicago style guide from Purdue’s Online Writing Lab
- Guide to citing primary sources in Chicago style from the Library of Congress.
- NoodleTools Citation Builder: use this resource to help construct citations.