English 111 – D. Starkey – The Awakening
About this guide
This guide provides students with suggested sources to write an extended analysis of The Awakening, by Kate Chopin. Your search for information can include books, periodical articles, online databases, and credible Internet resources. Use the tabs above to navigate through this guide.
Look into one particular facet of the novel The Awakening—in an extended analysis—consider how that particular aspect plays itself out in the novel. Consider specific passages in the novel, in addition to considering it as a whole.
You must use at least 10, but no more than 15, critical/secondary sources; correctly document your citations and include a separate Works Cited page. Your sources may well come from a combination of author interviews, book reviews, and from authorities in psychology, sociology and literary and cultural studies.
Print Reference Sources:
Reference Books are a good place to begin your research. Some examples of reference books related to your assignment for this class are listed below. These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section. Ask a librarian if you need help finding other reference sources
- Historical Dictionary of Feminism – R 305.42 B688h
- Historical Dictionary of Feminist Philosophy – R 108 G226h
- A History of Women in the United States – R 305.40973 W362h
- Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century – R 973.5 F499e
- The Female Experience in Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century America – R 016.301412 C767f
Online Reference Sources:
These reference sources are available online and cover a wide range of topics. When accessing these from off campus, you’ll be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.
Search the library catalog, or ask a librarian for help finding books on your topic. You can find both print books and ebooks by searching in the library’s catalog.
Some suggested search terms to try are listed below. Search by keyword or topic, separating terms with the word “and” as in the examples below:
kate chopin and criticism
awakening and interpretation
sexuality and literature and 19th century
women and sexuality and literature
Search for articles in the following databases. when accessing these resources from off campus, you’ll be prompted to enter your Pipeline username and password.
- Academic Search Premier: Provides full text and peer-reviewed articles for nearly 4,000 journals, magazines and newspapers in all subject areas. A great place to start.
- Gale Literature Resource Center: This is a great starting point to find literary analysis of Chopin’s work.
- PsycARTICLES: “Contains comprehensive full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from 63 journals from the American Psychological Association (APA) and related organizations.”
- Project MUSE: Includes the full text of 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- JSTOR: Includes full text articles from scholarly journals.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences: covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, and anthropology.
The Internet can be a valuable source for supplementing the information you have gathered from books and periodicals. It is important that you evaluate the information you get from the Internet to determine if it is credible, documented and useful to your research. Use the C.A.R.S. system to evaluate the websites you find.
The following are recommended websites to find information related to your assignment:
How to Cite
MLA citation style is most typically used when writing papers in the liberal arts or humanities.
The MLA formatting and style guide from Purdue University’s Online Writing Lab is a great resource to help you create citations in MLA format. See the links below for further guidance citing different types of sources.
- NoodleTools Citation Builder: use this resource to help construct citations.