English 70 – Brown – Drugs and Alcohol

causes of addiction diagram

About this guide

This guide provides students with suggested sources for their research in English 70 with Professor Brown. Your search for information can include books, periodical articles, online databases, and credible Internet resources.

Use the tabs above to navigate through the guide.

Your assignment

Research paper on the topics of drugs and alcohol.

Paper Writing Assistance:

Consult these campus resources for help with writing and editing:
About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource Center writing tools online

Need more help?

Have a question? Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help.Contact Us

Keywords

The words you use to describe a topic may be different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search. Or, try some of the search words listed below.

  • Alcohol
  • Alcohol abuse
  • Drugs
  • Drug abuse
  • Substance Abuse
  • Nutrition
  • Starvation

Print Reference Sources

Reference books are a good place to begin your research. They contain short entries with background and factual information. You can take notes from our reference titles, or make copies for ten cents a page. Examples of reference books related to hunger are listed below. These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section.

  • Encyclopedia of substance abuse prevention, treatment, & recovery — R 362.29 F533e 2009

Online Reference Sources

The library provides some reference sources online, through library databases. To access this database from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information.

Books

Search the library catalog for books on topics relevant to your research.

Articles

Articles from periodicals (newspapers, magazines, and academic journals) usually provide the most current information on a topic. Journal articles are more scholarly while magazine articles tend to be shorter and more general. Newspaper articles are the most current of the three periodical sources and another good source of information.

To find articles on your topic, use one of the online databases listed below. To access databases from off campus you will need to log-in with your Pipeline account number and password.

For pro-con information, try one of these databases:

Evaluating Websites

It is important that you evaluate the information you get from the Internet to determine if it is credible, documented, and useful to your research. Use the C.A.R.S. system to evaluate any websites you find:

  • Credibility: Is an author listed? What are the author’s credentials? Is there evidence of positive peer evaluation?
  • Accuracy:Is the date of the site current? Is the information complete and not too vague? Does the author acknowledge all views?
  • Reasonableness: Is the author fair and objective? Is the author concerned with the truth?
  • Support:Does the author provide support for the information? Are the sources listed?

Recommended Directories of Reliable Websites

  • 1st Gov Information from the U.S. Government
  • ipl2 “Information You Can Trust”