English 100 – Garcia – White Privilege

About this guide

This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research on white privilege. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of the guide.

Paper Writing Assistance

About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource center writing tools online

Need more help?

If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.Contact Us

Keywords

Sometimes the words you use to describe a topic are different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search. Or, try some of the search words listed below.

  • race
  • race discrimination
  • race identity
  • race relations
  • racism
  • minorities
  • prejudices
  • Whites

Reference Sources

Reference sources are a good place to begin your research. You will find objective background information, definitions, facts, statistics, etc.

Print Reference Sources

  • Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society — R 305.8 S294e
  • Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States — R 305.800973 M663e

Online Reference Sources

These resources are available online and will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.

Books

Search the library catalog for your topic.

Articles

Search for articles in the following databases. These resources will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.

  • Academic Search Premier Provides full text and peer-reviewed articles for nearly 4,000 journals, magazines and newspapers in all subject areas.

For pro/con information on current or controversial issues, try searching one of these databases:

Evaluating the Information You Find Online

Finding good websites for college research can be difficult and time-consuming. Use the C.A.R.S. system to evaluate any websites you find:

  • Credibility: Is an author listed? What are the author’s credentials? Is there evidence of positive peer evaluation?
  • Accuracy:Is the date of the site current? Is the information complete and not too vague? Does the author acknowledge all views?
  • Reasonableness: Is the author fair and objective? Is the author concerned with the truth?
  • Support:Does the author provide support for the information? Are the sources listed?

Finding Reliable Websites

Consider using some of the reliable websites below to help you explore and narrow your topic: