English 103 – Madison
About this Guide
This guide provides students with recommended resources to complete the English 103 Research Project. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of the guide.
English 103 Research Project: Select a topic related to addiction, conduct an interview, write a 5-7 page research paper, and give a 5-minute presentation to the class.
The SBCC Writing Center can help with the process of writing your annotated bibliography.
Terminology to Understand
- Reference Books vs. Reserves vs. References
- Periodicals: What they are and the difference between scholarly and popular
Need More Help?
Print Reference Sources
Reference books are a good place to begin your research. These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section, near the Reference and Information Desk:
- Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery — R 362.29 F533e 2009
- Tobacco in History and Culture: An Encyclopedia — R 394.14 G653t
Online Reference Sources
To access these resources from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information:
- Credo Reference: Contains the full text of nearly 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books.
- Addiction: A Reference Encyclopedia (ebook)
- Encyclopedia of Addictions (ebook)
- Drugs and Controlled Substances: Information for Students (ebook)
- Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior (ebook)
Search the library catalog (books+) for print books and ebooks on your topic.
Search for articles in library databases. These resources will require you to log in with your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.
For a variety of articles on a broad range of topics:
For articles with a more specific focus:
For news articles:
Figuring out whether the information you find online is credible enough for college research can be challenging. Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Source Evaluation Questions to help you determine whether the sources you find are credible:
- Purpose: How and why the source was created. Is it intended to educate, inform, persuade, sell, or entertain? Do the authors, publishers, or sponsors state this purpose, or try to disguise it? Why was this information published in this particular type of source (book, article, website, blog, etc.)? Is the source designed for the general public, students, or experts?
- Relevance: The value of the source for your needs. Does the type of source meet your assignment’s requirements? Does the information answer your question, support your argument, or add something to your knowledge of the topic? Is it too general or too specific? Is it too basic or too advanced?
- Objectivity: The reasonableness and completeness of the information. Do the authors present the information thoroughly and professionally? Is it fact or opinion? Is it biased? Do the authors use strong, emotional, manipulative, or offensive language? Do they leave out, or make fun of, important facts or alternative perspectives?
- Verifiability: The accuracy and truthfulness of the information. Do the authors support the information they present with strong factual evidence? Do they cite or provide links to other sources? What do experts say about the topic? Can you verify the information in other credible sources? Does the source contradict itself, include false statements, or misrepresent other sources?
- Expertise: The authority of the creators of the source. What makes the authors, publishers, or sponsors of the source authorities on the topic? Do they have related education, experience, or other expertise? Do they provide an important alternative perspective? Has the source been reviewed in some way, such as by an editor or through peer review?
- Newness: The age of the information. Is your topic in an area that requires current information (such as science, technology, or current events), or could information found in older sources still be useful? When was the information presented in the source first published or posted? Are newer sources available that would add important information to your understanding of the topic?
For more help locating reliable information online, see the Finding Credible Web Sources research guide.
See the MedlinePlus Guide to Healthy Web Surfing for tips for evaluating health information you find online.
- Websites providing information about addiction:
- National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
- National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
- Sources of statistics on addiction and drugs: