English 103 – Spaventa
About this guide
This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research for the three paper assignments in English 103 with Professor Spaventa. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of the guide.
Paper Writing Assistance
SBCC Writing Center
Writing Center Online Link Library
Need more help?
If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.![]()
Your Assignment
Write a three-page research paper comparing and contrasting the events surrounding Hurricane Katrina in Spike
Lee’s When the Levees Broke and Dave Eggers’ Zeitoun.
Keywords
Sometimes the words you use to describe a topic are different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search. Or, try some of the search words listed below.
-
Hurricanes
Hurricane Katrina
Hurricane Katrina – environmental aspects
Hurricane Katrina – government policy
Hurricane Katrina – health aspects
Hurricane Katrina – political aspects
Hurricane Katrina – social aspects
Natural disasters – United States
New Orleans
Reference Sources
Reference books and reference databases are a good place to begin your research, and find background information on your topic.
Reference Books
- The Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate Change: A Complete Visual Guide – R 551.6 F946e 2010
Reference Databases
To access this resource from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information:
Books
Search the library catalog for print books and ebooks on your topic. See the Keywords above for some words to try in your search.
Articles
Use one of the following databases to find articles from periodicals (newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals) about your topic. To access databases from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline username and password.
- Academic Search Complete For articles from periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers) in all subject areas.
- GreenFILE For articles about all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- Opposing Viewpoints For articles expressing different opinions on controversial topics.
Websites
Finding good websites for college research can be difficult and time-consuming. Be sure to evaluate any websites you find on your own, using the C.A.R.S. system.
Consider starting with some of the recommended websites below:
- Amazing True Story of Zeitoun
- Rumpus Long Interview with Dave Eggers
- Zeitoun Foundation
- How a Hero in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina was Arrested, Labeled a Terrorist and Imprisoned
- War on Terror, Katrina Intersect in Zeitoun
- Official website for When the Levees Broke
- ‘When the Levees Broke’: Spike Lee’s Tales From a Broken City
Your Assignment
Describe a single plant or animal species native to our area of California.
Keywords
Remember that the words you use to describe your topic may be different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. Consider searching by the scientific name of the species you are describing. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search. Or, try some of the search words listed below.
-
Amphibians California
Animals California
Aquatic insects California
Birds California
Botany California
Fisheries California
Insects California
Marine animals California
Marine mammals Pacific Coast North America
Marine organisms California
Native plants California
Plant conservation California
Plants California
Reptiles California
Seashore animals California
Seashore plants California
Wild flowers California
Reference Sources
Reference books and reference databases are a good place to begin your research, and find background information on your topic, including the scientific name of the species you are researching.
Reference Books
- Encyclopedia of Tidepools and Rocky Shores — R 577.699 D412e 2007
- The Jepson Manual: Higher Plants of California — R 581.9794 J54m 1993
- The Encyclopedia of Animals: A Complete Visual Guide — R 590.3 C772e
- Encyclopedia of Insects — R 595.7 R433e
- The Illustrated Guide to Marine Fish of the World: A Visual Directory of Sea Life, Featuring More Than 450 Fabulous Species — R 597.177 B415i 2009
- The Encyclopedia of Snakes — R 597.96 M444e
- The Audubon Society Encyclopedia of North American Birds — R598.2 T325a
- Grzimek’s Encyclopedia of Mammals — R 599 G895g
- Encyclopedia of Marine Mammals — R 599.5 P458e 2009
Reference Databases
To access this resource from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information:
- Credo Reference contains the full text of nearly 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Thousands of Topics Pages provide articles from different reference sources, arranged by subject. Includes “gadgets” for finding images, definitions, people, pronunciations, quotations, and measurement conversations, as well as a concept map feature for help identifying keywords and broadening or narrowing a topic. Additional features include videos, maps, and animations.
Books
Search the library catalog for print books and ebooks on your topic. See the Keywords above for some words to try in your search.
Articles
Use one of the following databases to find articles from periodicals (newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals) about your topic. To access databases from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline username and password.
- Academic Search Complete For articles from periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers) in all subject areas.
- GreenFILE For articles about all aspects of human impact to the environment.
- Science Full Text Select For articles from journals in all scientific fields.
Websites
Remember to evaluate any websites you find on your own, using the C.A.R.S. system.
Consider starting with the recommended websites below:
Your Assignment
Make a group presentation on an Italian province, based on your research of an Italian region or province’s history, art, music, culture in general, food, language.
Keywords
Remember that the words you use to describe your topic may be different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search. Or, try some of the search words listed below.
Food habits – Italy
Italy
Italy – Civilization
Reference Sources
Reference books and reference databases are a good place to begin your research, and find background information on your topic, including the scientific name of the species you are researching.
Reference Books
- CultureGrams — R 909 C968w, vol. 2
Reference Databases
To access online resources from off-campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information:
- County Watchcontains information about countries, including news on the latest political, economic, corporate, and environmental events, and detailed geographical, political, economic, corporate, and environmental briefings.
- Credo Reference contains the full text of nearly 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas.
Books
Search the library catalog for print books and ebooks on your topic. See the Keywords above for some words to try in your search.
Articles
Use one of the following databases to find articles from periodicals (newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals) about your topic. To access databases from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline username and password.
- Academic Search Complete For articles from periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers) in all subject areas.
Websites
Remember to evaluate any websites you find on your own, using the C.A.R.S. system.
Consider starting with the recommended websites below:
- CIA World FactBook: Italy Provides background information on Italy, including information on the geography, people, politics, economy, etc.
Evaluating Sources
It is important to evaluate the sources you use for college research. Use the C.A.R.S. system to evaluate the sources you find:
- Credibility: Is an author listed? What are the author’s credentials? Is there evidence of positive peer evaluation?
- Accuracy: Is the date of the site current? Is the information complete and not too vague? Does the author acknowledge all views?
- Reasonableness: Is the author fair and objective? Is the author concerned with the truth?
- Support: Does the author provide support for the information? Are the sources listed?
Citing Your Sources
This Citation Worksheet is a helpful way to keep track of your sources and all the elements you will need for citing them in your paper.




