English 103 – Wahlberg – Cultural and Environmental Awareness
About this Guide
This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research on cultural and environmental awareness. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of the guide.
Paper Writing Assistance
Need More Help?
If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.
Sometimes the words you use to describe a topic are different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search. Or, try some of the search words listed below.
- population – environmental aspects
- cross-cultural studies
- cultural awareness
- discrimination – United States
- ethnic groups
- gender identity
- group identity
- minorities – United States
- race discrimination – United States
- sex discrimination
Reference sources are a good place to begin your research. You will find objective background information, definitions, facts, and statistics.
Print Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society — R 305.8 S294e
- Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States — R 305.800973 M663e
- Immigration in America Today: An Encyclopedia — R 304.873 L886i
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues — R 306.0973 S528e 2011 V. 3
Online Reference Sources
These resources are available online and will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.
- Credo Reference – Contains the full text of nearly 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas.
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism – Explores the history and impact of racism in the United States.
- Minorities: Race and Ethnicity in America – Examines the experiences of minority groups in America.
- “Global Warming” – Overview of global warming, background, terminology, and impacts.
Search for books in the library catalog (books+) using keywords related to your topic.
Search for articles in the following databases. These resources will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.
- Academic Search Premier
Provides full text and peer-reviewed articles for over 7,550 journals, magazines and newspapers in all subject areas.
- National Newspapers Expanded
Provides the full text of five of the most read and widely-respected newspapers in the U.S: New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and Washington Post.
For pro/con information on current or controversial issues, try searching one of these databases:
Finding good websites for college research can be challenging and time-consuming. Be sure to evaluate any websites you find on your own, using the P.R.O.V.E.N. Test for Evaluating Sources:
- Purpose: The reason the information exists
- Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs
- Objectivity: The reasonableness of the information
- Verifiability: The truthfulness and accuracy of the information
- Expertise: The source of the information
- Newness: The timeliness of the information
For more help locating reliable information online, see the Finding Credible Web Sources research guide.