English 110 — Boggs
About this Guide
This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research on cultural and environmental awareness. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of the guide.
Paper Writing Assistance
Need More Help?
If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, email, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.
Interested in learning more about the library on your own? Explore the library’s online tutorials.
Sometimes the words you use to describe a topic are different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search. Or, try some of the search words listed below.
- population – environmental aspects
- cross-cultural studies
- cultural awareness
- discrimination – United States
- ethnic groups
- gender identity
- group identity
- minorities – United States
- race discrimination – United States
- sex discrimination
Reference sources are a good place to begin your research. You will find objective background information, definitions, facts, statistics, etc.
Print Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society — R 305.8 S294e
- Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States — R 305.800973 M663e
- Immigration in America Today: An Encyclopedia — R 304.873 L886i
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues — R 306.0973 S528e 2011 V. 3
Online Reference Sources
These resources are available online and will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.
- Credo Reference: Contains the full text of nearly 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas.
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism: Explores the history and impact of racism in the United States.
- Minorities: Race and Ethnicity in America: Examines the experiences of minority groups in America.
- “Global Warming”: Overview of global warming, background, terminology, and impacts.
Search for books in the library catalog (books+) using keywords related to your topic.
Search for articles in the following databases. These resources will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.
- Academic Search Complete: Provides full text for more than 8,500 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), including full text for nearly 7,300 peer-reviewed titles, in all subject areas.
- US Newsstream: Provides full-text access to current U.S. news content from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Archives dating back to the 1980s are also included. Specific titles include: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; Washington Post; and USA Today, as well as hundreds of local and regional newspapers.
For pro/con information on current or controversial issues, try searching one of these databases:
Figuring out whether the information you find online is credible enough for college research can be challenging. Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Source Evaluation Questions to help you determine whether the sources you find are credible:
- Purpose: How and why the source was created. Is it intended to educate, inform, persuade, sell, or entertain? Do the authors, publishers, or sponsors state this purpose, or try to disguise it? Why was this information published in this particular type of source (book, article, website, blog, etc.)? Is the source designed for the general public, students, or experts?
- Relevance: The value of the source for your needs. Does the type of source meet your assignment’s requirements? Does the information answer your question, support your argument, or add something to your knowledge of the topic? Is it too general or too specific? Is it too basic or too advanced?
- Objectivity: The reasonableness and completeness of the information. Do the authors present the information thoroughly and professionally? Is it fact or opinion? Is it biased? Do the authors use strong, emotional, manipulative, or offensive language? Do they leave out, or make fun of, important facts or alternative perspectives?
- Verifiability: The accuracy and truthfulness of the information. Do the authors support the information they present with strong factual evidence? Do they cite or provide links to other sources? What do experts say about the topic? Can you verify the information in other credible sources? Does the source contradict itself, include false statements, or misrepresent other sources?
- Expertise: The authority of the creators of the source. What makes the authors, publishers, or sponsors of the source authorities on the topic? Do they have related education, experience, or other expertise? Do they provide an important alternative perspective? Has the source been reviewed in some way, such as by an editor or through peer review?
- Newness: The age of the information. Is your topic in an area that requires current information (such as science, technology, or current events), or could information found in older sources still be useful? When was the information presented in the source first published or posted? Are newer sources available that would add important information to your understanding of the topic?
Consider using some of the reliable websites below for background, research, and statistics:
- California Environmental Protection Agency: Advocates for the protection of human health and the environment and to assure the coordinated deployment of State resources. Their mission is to restore, protect and enhance the environment, to ensure public health, environmental quality and economic vitality. This site contains much information and articles regarding environmental policy in California.
- Public Policy Institute of California: Data and analysis of economic, demographic, political trends that shape various policy issues.
- United States Environmental Protection Agency
For more help locating reliable information online, see the Finding Credible Web Sources research guide.