English 110 – Faulkner

Jimmy Stewart in Alfred Hitchcock's Rear Window. Image available via Creative Commons.

About this guide

This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research on topics related to the interpretation of films and television shows. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of the guide.

Your Assignment

Research essay in which you pick a LENS and DECONSTRUCT one film or one television
show through said lens, arriving at the understated or stated argument.

Paper Writing Assistance

About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource center writing tools online

Need more help?

If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.Contact Us

Keywords

Sometimes the words you use to describe a topic are too specific, or just different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. Before you search, try coming up with other ways to describe your topic.

For example, some other keywords for movies include motion pictures, films, and cinema.

If your topic is too narrow, you may need to search for information on a broader topic. For example:

  • If you want to explore how gender is portrayed in Legally Blonde, you might need to broaden your search to gender and romantic comedies
  • If you want to explore racism on The Bachelor, you might broaden your search to race and reality TV

If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search.

Print Reference Sources

Reference books are a good place to begin your research. These print resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section.

  • The Oxford Handbook of Film and Media Studies — R 791.43 K81o 2008
  • Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film — R 791.4303 G761s
  • Encyclopedia of Film Themes, Settings and Series — R 791.43 A737e
  • The Complete Film Dictionary — R 791.43 K82c
  • The Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood — R 791.43 P233e

Online Reference Sources

When accessing these resources from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

Topic Pages from Credo Reference

These pages are “designed as an all-in-one starting point for students to begin their research process.” You’ll find links to other library resources on these topic pages. Give them a try!

Books

Search the library catalog for books on your topic. Your search results will include articles as well. Limit to books by choosing the appropriate box from the menu to the left of the results. The library’s collection includes both print books and online ebooks.

Articles

Search for articles in the following databases. To access these resources from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information.

  • Academic Search Premier This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
  • Newspapers Several databases with searchable full-text versions of many of the largest papers.
  • Project MUSE Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theater and performing arts; history; language; medicine and health; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and math; social sciences; and gender and sexuality. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. An good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.
  • JSTOR Contains articles from hundreds of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Full text articles are available, from the first issue (sometimes going back over 100 years) until five years ago.

Evaluating Websites

Finding good websites for college research can be difficult and time-consuming. Use the C.A.R.S. system to evaluate any websites you find:

  • Credibility:

    Is an author listed? What are the author’s credentials? Is there evidence of positive peer evaluation?

  • Accuracy:

    Is the date of the site current? Is the information complete and not too vague? Does the author acknowledge all views?

  • Reasonableness:

    Is the author fair and objective? Is the author concerned with the truth?

  • Support:

    Does the author provide support for the information? Are the sources listed?

Recommended Websites

Consider using some of the reliable websites below:

General Websites

  • ipl2 “Information you can trust,” compiled by librarians and other educators.

Film and Television Catalogs

  • The Internet Movie Database: IMDb describes itself as “the world’s most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content.”
  • American Film Institute: Among other things, AFI “preserves the legacy of America’s film heritage through the AFI Archive… and the AFI Catalog of Feature Films, an authoritative record of American films from 1893 to the present.”
  • UCLA Film and Television Archive: “The UCLA Film & Television Archive is the second largest moving image archive in the United States after the Library of Congress, and the world’s largest university-based media archive.”