English 110 – Stotter
About this guide
This guide provides students with recommended resources for research papers exploring social problems. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of the guide.
Paper Writing Assistance
Need more help?
If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.
Choosing a Topic
The following resources will help assist with getting some background on your topic and finding keywords and subject headings.
Books in the Library
These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section.
- The official guide to American attitudes: who thinks what about the issues that shape our lives R 303.380973 M682o
- Violence in America : an encyclopedia R 303.6 G685v
- Protest, power, and change : an encyclopedia of nonviolent action from ACT-UP to women’s suffrage R 303.61 P888p
- Encyclopedia of racism in the United States R 305.800973 M663e
- Encyclopedia of social issues R 306.0973 R 845e
- Encyclopedia of contemporary American social issues R306.0973 S528e
- Social history of the United States 306.0973 W186e
- American countercultures : an encyclopedia of nonconformists, alternative lifestyles, and radical ideas in U.S. history R 306.1 M678a
- Encyclopedia of Politics R 320.03 C283e
- Encyclopedia of social problems R 361.1 P261e
- Encyclopedia of crime and punishment R 364.03 L665e
- Encyclopedia of gangs R 364.1066 K82e
- Dictionary of American history R 973.03 A194d 2003
To access this resource from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information:
Finding books on your subject
Search the library catalog for books you can check out on your topic.
Find articles from periodical databases:
Search your topic in:
Search for current event articles in this database of one periodical title:
Search for newspaper articles in:
Other databases you can search within:
For a full list of library databases click here.
The library recommends this database for more resources, including articles, broadcast, reference books:
Websites with credible publications and studies
- Pew Research Center: nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world..
- Public Policy Institute of California: research, statistics, reports.
- USA.gov: portal to all government information.
Search engines which offer results reviewed by others:
Figuring out whether the information you find online is credible enough for college research can be challenging. Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Test for Evaluating Sources to determine whether the sources you find are credible:
- Purpose: The reason the information exists. Is the purpose to sell, to entertain, to inform, to teach, or to persuade? Do the authors and publishers/sponsors make their purposes clear? Is this source designed for general readers or academic readers?
- Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs. Does it relate to your topic? Does it meet the requirements of your assignment? Is it too basic or too advanced?
- Objectivity: The reasonableness of the information. Is it fact or opinion? Is it biased? Do the authors use strong or emotional language, or leave out important facts or alternative perspectives?
- Verifiability: The truthfulness and accuracy of the information. Where does the information come from? Can you verify it in other sources? Are there citations or links to other sources? What do experts say about the topic?
- Expertise: The source of the information. Who are the authors, publishers, or sponsors of the information? Are they experts, or has the information been reviewed by experts? Is it posted on a personal website or blog?
- Newness: The timeliness of the information. When was the information published or posted? Is it up to date? Is your topic in an area that requires current information (such as technology or current events), or will older sources work as well?