English 111 – C. Walker

art image of figure with text covering the body

About this guide

This guide provides recommended print and online resources for students to conduct research for the Research Project for English 111 with Cynthia Walker. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of the guide.

Your assignment

A 7-8 page research paper exploring a theme from two pieces of literature read for this class, and connecting that theme to a painting, photograph, movie, or song.

Paper writing assistance

Need more help?

If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.Contact Us

Choosing Keywords to Use in Your Search

The words you use to describe a topic may be different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search. Consider some of these search strategies:

Tips:

  • If you have trouble finding books or articles about the theme you are exploring in the particular creative works you are considering, try a more general search. For example: race and film; or adolescence and photography.
  • For literary analysis of an author’s work, search for the author’s name and the word criticism. For example: Plath and criticism.

Finding Background Information

Reference sources are an excellent starting point for your research. They can provide background information, and help you identify keywords to use when searching for books and articles.

Print Reference Sources

The following books are available in the Luria Library Reference section.

    Art & Photography

    • The Dictionary of Art — R 703 T948d
    • The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art — R 709.73 M377g 2011
    • The Oxford Companion to the Photograph — R 770.3 L566o

    Film

    • Encyclopedia of Film Themes, Settings and Series — R 791.43 A737e
    • The Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood — R 791.43 P233e
    • The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film — R 791.43 T552e
    • Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film — R 791.4303 G761s

    Literature

    • Benet’s Reader’s Encyclopedia — R 803 B465b 2008
    • Novels for Students — R 809.3 G151n
    • Critical Survey of Long Fiction — R 809.3 M194c
    • Short Story Criticism — R 809.31 G151s
    • The Oxford Companion to American Literature — R 810.3 H325o
    • The Reader’s Encyclopedia of American Literature — R 810.3 R286
    • American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies — R 810.9 A512a
    • Modern American Literature — R 810.9 C975m
    • Dictionary of Literary Biography — R 810.9 M996
    • Latino and Latina Writers — R 810.9868 W517l
    • Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature — R 810.9896 O85g

    Music

    • The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians– R 780.03 G884 2001
    • The Harvard Dictionary of Music — R 780.3 R191n 2003
    • The Oxford Companion to Music — R 780.3 S368 2002

Online Reference Sources

These reference sources are available online and may require you to log in with your Pipeline account information:

Finding Books

Search the library catalog for books you can check out. The catalog also includes ebooks you can access from anywhere with an internet connection.

Interlibrary Loan

If you allow yourself time, and if the Luria Library does not have the book (or an article) you need, we can borrow it through Interlibrary loan from another library. Interlibrary loan is a free service for students. Use the online Interlibrary Loan Request Form to request your items. Be sure to request loans early in the research process as loans can take three to ten days.

Finding Articles

Search for articles in the library databases. These resources will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus. See the Luria Library’s database descriptions page for a full list of library databases, or ask a librarian for the best database to use for your topic.

Literature Databases

These literature databases will provide you with both biographical information about authors, and criticism of their works:

  • Artemis Includes primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.
  • MagillOnLiterature Plus
    Contains information about literary works and authors. Includes biographical essays and lists of authors’ principal works.

Tip: For searches in either of these databases, include both the literary work (or author) and the theme in your search. For example: The Bell Jar and gender roles; or Sylvia Plath and gender roles.

Other Databases

  • Academic Search Premier Provides full text and peer-reviewed articles for nearly 4,000 journals, magazines and newspapers in all subject areas.
  • Project MUSE Includes the full text of 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
  • JSTOR Includes full text articles from scholarly journals.
  • ARTstor Includes digital images of works of art.

Evaluating Websites

Finding good websites for college research can be difficult and time-consuming. Use the C.A.R.S. system to evaluate any websites you find:

  • Credibility: Is an author listed? What are the author’s credentials? Is there evidence of positive peer evaluation?
  • Accuracy:Is the date of the site current? Is the information complete and not too vague? Does the author acknowledge all views?
  • Reasonableness: Is the author fair and objective? Is the author concerned with the truth?
  • Support:Does the author provide support for the information? Are the sources listed?

Recommended Websites

For more help locating reliable information online, see the Finding Credible Web Sources research guide.

Citing Your Sources

This Citation Worksheet is a helpful way to keep track of your sources and all the elements you will need for citing them in your paper.

MLA Formatting Guides