English 111 – Davies Ward

"Dig" / Sadie Wendell Mitchell.

“Dig” / Sadie Wendell Mitchell.

About this Guide

This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research in English 111 with Professor Davies Ward.

Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of the guide.

Your Assignment

Short Story Research Paper: Formulate a literary argument based on an in-depth analysis of one or two literary elements that can be traced in a short story of your choice from Part 2, Fiction section of the course reader (chapters 13-19). Write a six-page essay (2200 words) using a minimum of six different scholarly sources, two of which may be a website, for support.

Paper Writing Assistance:

Consult these campus resources for help with writing and editing:
About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource center writing tools online

Need more help?

Have a question? Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help.Contact Us

Sometimes the words you use to describe a topic are too specific, or just different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. Before you search, try coming up with several ways to describe your topic.

For example, some other keywords for drug addiction would include substance abuse.

Keep in mind that you may not find literary criticism about the specific work(s) you are considering in your paper. Instead, try looking for criticism about your author’s work in general, by including terms such as “criticism,” “interpretation,” or “analysis” in your search. For example:

    Larry Fondation criticism
    Rose Tremain analysis

Finding Background Information

Reference books are a good place to begin your research or to find inspiration for an assignment. The print reference books are available in the Luria Library Reference section. The library also subscribes to some online reference sources, listed below.

Print Reference Books

  • Short Stories for Students – R 809.31 G151ss 2009
  • Characters in 19th Century Literature – R 809.927 H859c
  • Characters in 20th Century Literature – R 809.927 H314c

Online Reference Books

To access this resource from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

  • Credo Reference Contains the full text of nearly 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books.

Books

The library’s collection includes both print books and online ebooks covering literary criticism topics. You can earch the library catalog for literary criticism on an author’s work (for the best results, add a word such as “criticism” or “interpretation” to your search), or for books about medicine or literature and medicine.

Articles

Use these library databases to search for articles that provide critique and interpretation of authors and particular works. If you don’t find information about the particular story you are considering in your paper, try searching for criticism of the author in general.

  • Artemis (formerly Literature Resources from Gale) This database is a great starting point for finding literary criticism about particular works or authors.
  • JSTOR Contains articles from hundreds of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects, including literature. Note that journal articles in JSTOR are available in full text from the first volume up until five years ago.
  • Project MUSE Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in a variety of subject areas, including literature.

For information about social and historical background, consider using these databases:

  • Academic Search Premier Provides full text for nearly 5,000 periodicals in a wide range of subject areas. Use this database to find biographical information and literary criticism about an author, and information about the historical context in which an author wrote.
  • America: History and Life with Full Text Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Use this database to find information about the historical context in which an author wrote.
  • History Reference Center Covers all time periods of U.S. and World History. Use this database to find information about the historical context in which an author wrote.

Evaluating Websites

Finding good websites for college research can be challenging and time-consuming. Be sure to evaluate any websites you find on your own, using the P.R.O.V.E.N. Test for Evaluating Sources:

  • Purpose: The reason the information exists
  • Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs
  • Objectivity: The reasonableness of the information
  • Verifiability: The truthfulness and accuracy of the information
  • Expertise: The source of the information
  • Newness: The timeliness of the information

Recommended Websites

For help locating reliable information online, see the Finding Credible Web Sources research guide.

Citation

For this paper you will be required to cite your sources using MLA style.

Make sure to keep track of your sources while you are searching and as you incorporate quotes and paraphrases into your paper.

Library Research Workshop Survey

After the library research workshop for your class, please complete this Survey to reflect on what you learned and provide feedback to the librarian. The CRN for this course is 62214.