English 111 – Faulkner

About this Guide

This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research for “Relationship” Essay # 4 in English 111 with Professor Faulkner.

Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of the guide.

Your Assignment

A 1750-2000 word research essay on one of the five prompts, using at least three secondary sources.

Paper Writing Assistance:

Consult these campus resources for help with writing and editing:
About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource center writing tools online

Need more help?

Have a question? Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help.Contact Us

Sometimes the words you use to describe a topic are too specific, or just different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. Before you search, try coming up with several ways to describe your topic.

For example, some other keywords for drug addiction would include substance abuse.

Keep in mind that you may not find literary criticism about the specific story you are considering in your paper. Instead, try looking for criticism about your author’s work in general, by including terms such as “criticism,” “interpretation,” or “analysis” in your search. For example:

    Jeanette Winterson criticism
    Barry Hannah analysis

Finding Background Information

Reference books are a good place to begin your research or to find inspiration for an assignment. The print reference books are available in the Luria Library Reference section. The library also subscribes to some online reference sources, listed below.

Print Reference Books

  • Short Story Criticism – R 809.31 G151s
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography – R 810.9 M996

Online Reference Books

To access these resources from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline username and password.

  • Credo Reference Contains the full text of nearly 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library Contains the full text of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources.

Books

The library’s collection includes both print books and online ebooks covering literary criticism topics. Search the library catalog for literary criticism on your author’s work. For the best results, add a word such as “criticism” or “interpretation” to your search.

Articles

Use these library databases to search for articles that provide critique and interpretation of authors and particular works. If you don’t find information about the particular story you are considering in your paper, try searching for criticism of the author in general.

  • Gale Literature Resource Center This literature database is a great starting point. Focus your search by using the “person-by or about” or “name of work” buttons below the search box as appropriate.
  • JSTOR Contains articles from hundreds of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects, including literature. Note that journal articles in JSTOR are available in full text from the first volume up until five years ago.
  • Project MUSE Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in a variety of subject areas, including literature.

For information about the psychology of relationships, consider using one of the library’s psychology databases:

Evaluating Websites

Finding good websites for college research can be difficult and time-consuming. Use the C.A.R.S. system to evaluate any websites you find:

  • Credibility: Is an author listed? What are the author’s credentials? Is there evidence of positive peer evaluation?
  • Accuracy: Is the date of the site current? Is the information complete and not too vague? Does the author acknowledge all views?
  • Reasonableness: Is the author fair and objective? Is the author concerned with the truth?
  • Support: Does the author provide support for the information? Are the sources listed?

Recommended Websites

Consider using one of the reliable websites below to help you explore and narrow your topic:

Citation Guidelines

The following resources will help you construct MLA citations: