English 70 – Brown – Hunger
About this guide
This guide provides students with suggested sources for their class debate research. Your search for information can include books, periodical articles, online databases, and credible Internet resources.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the guide.
The words you use to describe a topic may be different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search. Or, try some of the search words listed below.
- Food consumption
- Food relief
- Food supply
Print References Sources
Reference Books are a good place to begin your research. You can take notes or make copies for ten cents a page. Examples of reference books related to hunger are listed below. These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section.
- Dimensions of need : an atlas of food and agriculture — R 338.19 L829d
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues — R 306.0973 S528e 2011
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture — R 394.12 K19e
- Encyclopedia of Human Rights — R 323.4 F735e 2009
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food & Drink — R 641.3 S642o
Online Reference Sources
These resources are available online and may require your Pipeline account information.
Search the Library Catalog for books on topics relevant to your research.
Journal and magazine articles usually provide the most current information on a topic. Journal articles are more scholarly while magazine articles tend to be shorter and more general. Newspaper articles are the most current of the three periodical sources and another good source of information.
To find articles on your topic, use one of the online periodical databases listed below. These databases usually provide full-text articles. Search in these databases by using subject headings, keywords and names of companies or individuals.
To access databases from off campus you will need to log-in with your Pipeline account number and password.
If the Luria Library does not have the book or article you need, we can borrow it through Interlibrary loan from another library. Interlibrary loan is a free service for students. Use the online Interlibrary Loan Request Form to request your items. Be sure to request loans early in the research process as loans can take three to ten days.
It is important that you evaluate the information you get from the Internet to determine if it is credible, documented, and useful to your research. Use the C.A.R.S. system to evaluate any websites you find:
- Credibility: Is an author listed? What are the author’s credentials? Is there evidence of positive peer evaluation?
- Accuracy:Is the date of the site current? Is the information complete and not too vague? Does the author acknowledge all views?
- Reasonableness: Is the author fair and objective? Is the author concerned with the truth?
- Support:Does the author provide support for the information? Are the sources listed?
The internet sites included here have been reviewed by a librarian and/or your instructor.
General Subject Directories:
Hunger: Selected Sites: