English 80 – Westmacott – Fall 2012
About this guide:
This guide provides students with suggested resources for research in English 80 with Professor Westmacott. Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
Conduct research on trying juveniles as adults in the court system.
Need more help?
The words you use to describe a topic may be different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search. To begin, try some of the words below in your search:
Discrimination in juvenile justice administration
Female juvenile delinquents
Sex discrimination in criminal justice administration
Reference sources are a good place to find background information on your topic.
Print Reference Sources
Consider starting with these books, to find general information on your topic. These books are available in the Luria Library Reference section, behind the Reference & Information Desk.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment — R 364.03 L665e
Encyclopedia of Social Issues — R 306.0973 R845e
Encyclopedia Britannica — R 032 B862n 2010
The World Book Encyclopedia — R 031 W927b 2007
Online Reference Sources
The library provides some reference sources online, through library databases. To access databases from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information.
Search the Library Catalog for books on topics relevant to your research. Start with just one or two keywords related to your topic (see the Keywords tab in this guide for ideas). Ask a librarian for help if you have trouble finding books on your topic.
Articles from periodicals (newspapers, magazines, and academic journals) usually provide the most current information on a topic. Journal articles are more scholarly while magazine articles tend to be shorter, easier to understand, and more general. Newspaper articles provide the most current information of the three periodical sources.
To find articles on your topic, use one of the online databases listed below. The full text is available online for most articles in these databases. Search in these databases by keywords (see the Keywords tab for ideas), or names of individuals.
- Academic Search Premier Includes articles from periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers) in all subject areas.
- CQ Researcher An excellent source of pro/con information, containing single-themed reports on controversial social issues.
- Military & Government Collection Includes articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) related to military and government, including criminal justice.
- Newspaper Source Plus Provides the full text of newspaper articles, and transcripts of broadcast news programs.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context An excellent source of pro/con information, providing opinions and other information on hundreds of hot social issues.
It is important that you evaluate the information you get from the Internet to determine if it is credible, documented, and useful to your research. Use the C.A.R.S. system to evaluate any websites you find:
- Credibility: Is an author listed? What are the author’s credentials? Is there evidence of positive peer evaluation?
- Accuracy:Is the date of the site current? Is the information complete and not too vague? Does the author acknowledge all views?
- Reasonableness: Is the author fair and objective? Is the author concerned with the truth?
- Support:Does the author provide support for the information? Are the sources listed?
Start by using websites you know are reliable, like the website for the film Juvies.
MLA citation style is most typically used when writing papers in the liberal arts or humanities. MLA is the recommended citation style for this class.
The MLA formatting and style guide from Purdue University’s Online Writing Lab is a great resource to help you create citations in MLA format. See the links below for further guidance citing different types of sources.
- NoodleTools Citation Builder: use this resource to help construct citations.