ESL 130 – Lasswell
About this guide
This guide provides students with recommended resources for ESL 130 with Professor Lasswell. Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of the guide.
Complete the Library Assignment during class and/or as homework.
- Academic journal: A periodical written for students, teachers, researchers, or other professionals in a particular field. (See “Periodicals” and “Scholarly journal.”)
- Article:A piece of writing published, with other articles, in a larger source, such as a periodical. (See “Source” and “Periodical.”)
- Author: The writer of a book or article.
- Borrow: To take home library materials for a short time. (See “Check out.”)
- Call number: The number typed on the spine of the book. The call number is like the address for where the book belongs on the shelf, so it helps you find the book in the library.
- Catalog: An online, searchable list of the books, periodicals, and other materials the library has.
- Check out: To take home library materials for a short time. (See “Borrow.”)
- Checkout desk / circulation desk: The place in the library where you can borrow (or check out) library materials.
- Database: An online collection of articles or other materials.
- Due date: The date by which you must return the library materials you borrowed (or checked out).
- ESL materials: Books to help you learn to read in English.
- Fiction: Stories and novels.
- Fine: Money you might owe if you do not return library materials on time. (See “Late fees.”)
- Keyword: A word describing your topic, which you use to search for library materials in the catalog or databases. (See “Catalog” and “Database.”)
- Late fees: Money you might owe if you do not return library materials on time. (See “Fine.”)
- Librarian: The professional who answers your questions in the library.
- Magazine: A kind of periodical, usually written for a general audience. (See “Periodical.”)
- Newspaper: A kind of periodical, usually written for a general audience and including information on current events. (See “Periodical.”)
- Non-fiction: True stories or facts.
- Periodicals: Materials that are published on a regular schedule, like newspapers, magazines, and academic/scholarly journals. Examples include: The Los Angeles Times (a newspaper); Consumer Reports (a magazine); and Journal of Applied Psychology (academic/scholarly journal).
- Reference desk: The place in the library where you can ask a librarian for help. (See “Librarian.”)
- Research guide: An online or paper list of resources or instructions that will help you complete your research for a particular class, assignment, or topic.
- Research topic: What your research is about.
- Resources: Materials and tools that lead you to information sources. (See “Source.”)
- Scholarly journal: A periodical written for students, teachers, researchers, or other professionals in a particular field. (See “Periodicals” and “Academic journal.”)
- Source: A book, article, person, website, or other place from which you get information.
- Subject: What book or other source is about.
- Title: The name of a book or article.
Encyclopedias and other reference books provide background information on a topic. Good resources on a variety of topics are available in the Luria Library Reference section. Ask a librarian for help finding the best reference source for your research, or start with this one:
- World Book Encyclopedia — R 031 W927b 2007
This reference source also provides background information on many topics. To access this source from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline username and password.
- Credo Reference Contains the full text of nearly 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books.
The library’s has both print books as well as online ebooks.
Search the library catalog, or ask a librarian for help finding books on your topic.
The Luria Library’s databases provide online access to articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals). From off campus, you will need to log in using your Pipeline account information.
For articles from periodicals on any topic, try these databases:
- Academic Search Premier This database is a great place to find information on any topic, from all types of periodicals.
- National Newspapers Expanded Start here if your topic is about an event in the news.
- Primary Search Try this database if you find the reading level of other databases too difficult.
If your topic has to do with a controversial issue, try searching for information in one of these databases:
- CQ Researcher Provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of both sides of controversial issues related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Provides opinions and other information on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues.
Finding good websites for college research can be challenging and time-consuming. Be sure to evaluate any websites you find on your own, using the P.R.O.V.E.N. Test for Evaluating Sources:
- Purpose: How and why the source was created. Is it intended to educate, inform, persuade, sell, or entertain? Do the authors, publishers, or sponsors state this purpose, or try to disguise it? Why was this information published in this particular type of source (book, article, website, blog, etc.)? Is the source designed for the general public, students, or experts?
- Relevance: The value of the source for your needs. Does the type of source meet your assignment’s requirements? Does the information answer your question, support your argument, or add something to your knowledge of the topic? Is it too general or too specific? Is it too basic or too advanced?
- Objectivity: The reasonableness and completeness of the information. Do the authors present the information thoroughly and professionally? Is it fact or opinion? Is it biased? Do the authors use strong, emotional, manipulative, or offensive language? Do they leave out, or make fun of, important facts or alternative perspectives?
- Verifiability: The accuracy and truthfulness of the information. Do the authors support the information they present with strong factual evidence? Do they cite or provide links to other sources? What do experts say about the topic? Can you verify the information in other credible sources? Does the source contradict itself, include false statements, or misrepresent other sources?
- Expertise: The authority of the creators of the source. What makes the authors, publishers, or sponsors of the source authorities on the topic? Do they have related education, experience, or other expertise? Do they provide an important alternative perspective? Has the source been reviewed in some way, such as by an editor or through peer review?
- Newness: The age of the information. Is your topic in an area that requires current information (such as science, technology, or current events), or could information found in older sources still be useful? When was the information presented in the source first published or posted? Are newer sources available that would add important information to your understanding of the topic?
For more help locating reliable information online, see the Finding Credible Web Sources research guide.
For improving your writing and reading skills, use this link to English as Second Language Learning Resources available to you online for free.