Finance 10 – Santillan
About this guide
This guide provides students with suggested sources for their research about careers for Finance 10.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the guide.
Complete the “Library Assignment – Sources” worksheet: choose a career that interests you, and follow the instructions on the worksheet to find and describe different kinds of sources that provide information about that career.
The Learning Resources Center can help you with writing and editing:
About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource Center writing tools online
The Luria Library can help you with the research process, including finding information on your topic, figuring out whether the sources you find are reliable, and citing those sources appropriately. Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for help.
The words you use to describe a topic may be different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information about the career that interests you, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search. Start by combining some of these keywords with words about the specific career that interests you:
For example, for information about becoming a police officer, you could try one of these combinations of keywords in your search:
Law enforcement vocational guidance
Police vocational guidance
Reference sources are a good place to begin your research. They contain short essays with background and factual information. For information about careers, the print or online version of the Occupational Outlook Handbook is usually the best place to start.
Print Reference Sources
Examples of reference books related to careers are listed below. These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section.
- The encyclopedia of careers and vocational guidance — R 371.425 E56c
- Occupational outlook handbook — R 371.425 U58 (also available online)
Online Reference Sources
The library provides some reference sources online. To access these resources from off campus, you may need to log in with your Pipeline account information.
Search the library catalog for books about the career that interests you. See the Keywords tab in this guide for ideas about words to use in your search.
Articles from periodicals (newspapers, magazines, and academic journals) often provide the most current information on a topic. Journal articles are more scholarly while magazine articles tend to be shorter and more general. Newspaper articles are the most current of the three periodical sources and another good source of information.
To find articles on your topic, use one of the online databases listed below. To access databases from off campus you will need to log-in with your Pipeline account number and password.
- Vocational & Career Collection Provides full text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals in a variety of occupational fields.
- Academic Search Premier This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Figuring out whether the information you find online is credible enough for college research can be challenging. Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Test for Evaluating Sources to determine whether the sources you find are credible:
- Purpose: The reason the information exists. Is the purpose to sell, to entertain, to inform, to teach, or to persuade? Do the authors and publishers/sponsors make their purposes clear? Is this source designed for general readers or academic readers?
- Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs. Does it relate to your topic? Does it meet the requirements of your assignment? Is it too basic or too advanced?
- Objectivity: The reasonableness of the information. Is it fact or opinion? Is it biased? Do the authors use strong or emotional language, or leave out important facts or alternative perspectives?
- Verifiability: The truthfulness and accuracy of the information. Where does the information come from? Can you verify it in other sources? Are there citations or links to other sources? What do experts say about the topic?
- Expertise: The source of the information. Who are the authors, publishers, or sponsors of the information? Are they experts, or has the information been reviewed by experts? Is it posted on a personal website or blog?
- Newness: The timeliness of the information. When was the information published or posted? Is it up to date? Is your topic in an area that requires current information (such as technology or current events), or will older sources work as well?