Resources for Art Research

No. 9, Nature Morte Espagnole, by Diego Rivera from the National Gallery of Art, Washington DC.

About this Guide

    Students will discover recommended print and electronic resources for finding art criticism. Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.

Paper Writing Assistance

About SBCC’s Writing Center
SBCC Learning Resource Center Writing Tools Online

Need More Help?

Have a question? Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, email, or chat for more help.Contact Us

Library Tutorials

Interested in learning more about the library on your own? Explore the library’s online tutorials.

Getting Started

Find background information by looking up your artist or artwork in encyclopedias. In these books, you can quickly learn the birth and death dates of your artist, the spelling of the name, the school/style/genre of art they worked within, nationality, and other key information that will help in the rest of your search.

Print Reference Books

Ask a librarian for help if you need help locating these reference books on the shelf:

  • Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the Present — 709.04 A874a
  • Dictionary of Art — R 703 T948d
  • Encyclopedia of World Art — R 700 E56

Online Reference Sources

To access this database from off campus, you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password:

    Credo Reference
    Contains the full text of nearly 800 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas.

Books

Check out the library catalog (books+) to search the library’s entire collection for books about your artist and works created.

  • Start by typing in the search box (at the “books+” tab on the library website).
  • Type the name of the artist of the name of the artwork.
  • Add the word “criticism” or the word “biography” to find books on that topic.
  • Examine the results list you get and select a title.
  • Use the subject headings (shown in the image below) to find other similar books.


Articles

Search for articles in the databases linked below. To access database from off campus, you will need to log in using your Pipeline username and password:

  • Academic Search Complete
    A great place to start your research/ This database contains periodical articles (magazines, journals, and newspapers) in all subject. Try searching the artist name and the word criticism.
  • JSTOR
    Scholarly articles, including art criticism.
  • Project MUSE
    Scholarly articles, including art criticism.

Images

Quality Art/Art History Internet Resources

To find art reproductions on the web, try an “Image Search” in Google or AltaVista

Analyzing Art

Along with your instructor’s advice, these library books will give you ideas on how you can analyze a work of art. Ask a librarian if you need help locating them on the shelf:

  • A Short Guide to Writing About Art — 701.18 B261s 2000
  • Writing About Art — 701.18 S275w

Paper Writing Assistance

About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource Center Writing Tools Online

Citation Guidelines

Below are some resources for creating citations for sources found on the internet and through library databases. More resources are available on the Citation Guides page.