Fitness Yoga – Lewis

yoga posture


CC0 public domain image from Pixabay.

About this Guide

This guide has been developed to assist students and faculty interested in extending, expanding and enhancing their knowledge about yoga. With this guide, you will be able to navigate resources on yoga in the SBCC library – online as well as in the local community. To navigate through this guide use the tabs above.

More About Yoga from E. Bonnie Lewis

Fitness Yoga focuses on the instruction and practice in the fundamentals of Hatha Yoga based poses designed to enhance strength, flexibility, balance and focus.

Hatha Yoga asanas (postures) are designed to give maximum flexibility and strength to the skeletal, muscular and nervous systems. Asanas stretch and strengthen the spine and work, with the aid of the breathing exercises, to balance and revitalize the body. Through the practice of Hatha Yoga the two sides of the body and their characteristic forces are brought into balance. By practicing Hatha Yoga, one can obtain physical health, mental clarity and steady strength.

The word Yoga is derived from the Sanskrit root verb “yuj,” which means to join or unite. The name Hatha is made up of two Sanskrit root “Ha,” which stand for the sun, and “Tha,” which stands for the moon.

Yoga originated in ancient India. It is over 6,000 years old. Begun by Tibetan monks, the techniques and theories were initially handed down orally by a chain of teachers and students. Later on they were written down. The first written account is attributed to the Indian sage Patanjali, who codified the complete system of Yoga in the 2nd century B.C. The Yoga Sutras remains as one of India’s most important writings. Patanjali chose 84 main postures from the thousands then in use. In India today these same postures are basic to the study of Yoga.

Ask a Librarian

At any point in your research, you can ask a librarian for help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page. Contact Us

Library Tutorials

Interested in learning more about the library on your own?
Explore the library’s online tutorials.

Choosing a Topic

Your topic should be focused, but not so narrow that you cannot find enough information about it. For topic ideas, look at your course syllabus and readings, look at some of the reference sources on the “Background Info” tab of this research guide, or look at some of the sources listed on the other tabs.

Research Questions

A research question articulates exactly what you want to know about your topic, and helps guide your research. Your research question should be specific, but open-ended.

The video below offers some tips for creating open-ended research questions.

Keywords

Keywords are the words you type into a search box to search for information on your topic. The words you use to describe your topic may be different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search.

Watch the video below for a short tutorial on keywords.

Video courtesy of Ray Howard Library at Shoreline Community College (CC BY-NC 3.0 US)

Reference Sources

These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section:

  • Krishna in History, Thought, and Culture: An Encyclopedia of the Hindu Lord of Many Names — R 294.5 V446k 2016
  • Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices — R 291.03 M528r

These reference sources are available online and will require you to log in with your Pipeline account information from off campus:

Books

Use the library catalog (books+) to find information about yoga. To limit to books, choose the appropriate box from the menu to the left of your search results.

Yoga Information Online

Magazines and Journals

From off campus, you will need to login with your Pipeline username and password.

  • Academic Search Complete is the library’s largest database covering a wide variety of subjects, including yoga.
  • Alt HealthWatch provides articles covering many perspectives on complementary, alternative, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, including yoga.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes articles from nursing and allied health journals covering a range of topics, including yoga.

Recommended Articles

From off campus, you will need to login with your Pipeline username and password.

Yoga and Health

Yoga and Well Being

Yoga and Fitness

Videos

Alexander Street Press Videos
Provides online access to nearly 43,000 academic videos in a wide range of subjects and disciplines, including environmental sustainability. From off campus, you will need to login with your Pipeline username and password.

Learning Resource Center

The LRC is located across from the library and has several yoga related videos.
Search for videos in their Resource Catalog.

Videos on the Web

  • My stroke of insight — “Jill Bolte Taylor got a research opportunity few brain scientists would wish for: She had a massive stroke, and watched as her brain functions — motion, speech, self-awareness — shut down one by one. An astonishing story.”
    Why you should listen to her:
    Amazed to find herself alive, Taylor spent eight years recovering her ability to think, walk and talk. She has become a spokesperson for stroke recovery and for the possibility of coming back from brain injury stronger than before. In her case, although the stroke damaged the left side of her brain, her recovery unleashed a torrent of creative energy from her right. From her home base in Indiana, she now travels the country on behalf of the Harvard Brain Bank as the “Singin’ Scientist.”

Quality Internet Resources

Keep in mind, while you are searching, that there is a great deal of poor information online.
Visit our research guide Finding Credible Web Sources for tips on finding quality yoga information on the internet.

Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Source Evaluation Questions to help you determine whether the sources you find are credible.

Yoga Resources and Teacher Training