International Business 102 – Commerford

via Reddit" "The Illusion of Choice"

via Reddit” “The Illusion of Choice”

About this guide

This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research for the group project in MKT 102 with Dr. Commerford.

Your Assignment

Group project for which you will develop an international business strategy for a business you will create.

Paper Writing Assistance

About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource center writing tools online

Need more help?

If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.Contact Us

Reference Sources

Reference sources are a good place to get background information on different aspects of your topic.

Print Reference Sources

Online Reference Sources

These resources are available online and will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus:

  • Country Watch Contains information about countries, including news on the latest political, economic, corporate, and environmental events as they occur, and detailed geographical, political, economic, corporate, and environmental briefings.
  • Credo Reference Contains the full text of over 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas.

Evaluating Websites

Figuring out whether the information you find online is credible enough for college research can be challenging. Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Test for Evaluating Sources to determine whether the sources you find are credible:

  • Purpose: The reason the information exists. Is the purpose to sell, to entertain, to inform, to teach, or to persuade? Do the authors and publishers/sponsors make their purposes clear? Is this source designed for general readers or academic readers?
  • Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs. Does it relate to your topic? Does it meet the requirements of your assignment? Is it too basic or too advanced?
  • Objectivity: The reasonableness of the information. Is it fact or opinion? Is it biased? Do the authors use strong or emotional language, or leave out important facts or alternative perspectives?
  • Verifiability: The truthfulness and accuracy of the information. Where does the information come from? Can you verify it in other sources? Are there citations or links to other sources? What do experts say about the topic?
  • Expertise: The source of the information. Who are the authors, publishers, or sponsors of the information? Are they experts, or has the information been reviewed by experts? Is it posted on a personal website or blog?
  • Newness: The timeliness of the information. When was the information published or posted? Is it up to date? Is your topic in an area that requires current information (such as technology or current events), or will older sources work as well?

Consider using one of the reliable websites below:

You can find a longer list of recommended websites on the Luria Library’s Internet Links page.

Articles

Search for articles in the following databases. These resources will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.

    Business

    • Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
      Provides abstracts and full text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers), in all disciplines of business, including marketing. Also includes company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, and market research reports.

    General

    • Academic Search Premier: This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

    News

    • National Newspapers Expanded (ProQuest)
      Provides the full text of five of the most read and widely-respected newspapers in the U.S: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; and Washington Post.

Books

Search the library catalog for books on your topic. Your search results will include articles as well. Limit to books by choosing the appropriate box from the menu to the left of the results.

How to Cite

This Citation Worksheet is a helpful way to keep track of your sources and all the elements you will need in citing them for your bibliography.

Links to MLA citation format: