International Business 211 – Commerford

image of globe with flags

Global market – SalFalko/Flickr

About this guide

This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research for the project in IBUS 211 with Dr. Commerford.

Your Assignment

Group project for which you will develop a strategy for expanding a business/product into the international market.

Paper Writing Assistance

About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource center writing tools online

Need more help?

If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.Contact Us

Reference Sources

Reference sources are a good place to get background information on different aspects of your topic.

Print Reference Sources

  • The Statesman’s Year-Book — R 310 S797
  • Doing Business Internationally: The Resource for Business and Social Etiquette — R 395.52 P957d
  • The Europa world year book — R 341.184 E89

Online Reference Sources

These resources are available online and will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus:

  • Country Watch Contains information about countries, including news on the latest political, economic, corporate, and environmental events as they occur, and detailed geographical, political, economic, corporate, and environmental briefings.
  • Credo Reference Contains the full text of over 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas.

Evaluating Websites

Figuring out whether the information you find online is credible enough for college research can be challenging. Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Test for Evaluating Sources to determine whether the sources you find are credible:

  • Purpose: The reason the information exists. Is the purpose to sell, to entertain, to inform, to teach, or to persuade? Do the authors and publishers/sponsors make their purposes clear? Is this source designed for general readers or academic readers?
  • Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs. Does it relate to your topic? Does it meet the requirements of your assignment? Is it too basic or too advanced?
  • Objectivity: The reasonableness of the information. Is it fact or opinion? Is it biased? Do the authors use strong or emotional language, or leave out important facts or alternative perspectives?
  • Verifiability: The truthfulness and accuracy of the information. Where does the information come from? Can you verify it in other sources? Are there citations or links to other sources? What do experts say about the topic?
  • Expertise: The source of the information. Who are the authors, publishers, or sponsors of the information? Are they experts, or has the information been reviewed by experts? Is it posted on a personal website or blog?
  • Newness: The timeliness of the information. When was the information published or posted? Is it up to date? Is your topic in an area that requires current information (such as technology or current events), or will older sources work as well?

Consider using one of the reliable websites below, or under the “More Resources” tab.

Articles

Search for articles in the following databases. These resources will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.

    Business

    • Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
      Provides abstracts and full text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers), in all disciplines of business, including marketing. Also includes company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, and market research reports.

    General

    • Academic Search Premier: “This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.”

    News

    • National Newspapers Expanded (ProQuest)
      Provides the full text of five of the most read and widely-respected newspapers in the U.S: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; and Washington Post.

    • Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)Provides the full text of more than 63 million full-text articles from more than 1,210 newspapers, more than 130 newswires, and nearly 50 news magazines. Newspapers include: Christian Science Monitor; The Times (UK); USA Today; and The Washington Post. Newswires include: AP (Associated Press); CNN Wire; PR Wire; UPI (United Press International); and Xinhua (China). Also provides more than 1.4 million TV & Radio News Transcripts from sources such as: ABC News; CBS News; CNBC; CNN and CNN International; FOX News; MSNBC; National Public Radio; and PBS.

Books

Search the library catalog for books on your topic. Your search results will include articles as well. Limit to books by choosing the appropriate box from the menu to the left of the results.

Additional Resources

Contracts

Law

Arbitration

Intellectual Property Rights

Standards

    Canada – Standards Council
    The Standards Council of Canada (SCC) assists in the development and use of both national and international standards and accreditation services to boost economic viability and positive social outcomes.

    China – Standardization Administration of the People’s Republic of China
    Access China’s standardization law and regulations, and search China’s technical standards.

    Europe – Committee for Standardization
    The European Committee for Standardization/Comité Européen de Normalisation (CEN) works towards the objectives of the European Union and the European Economic Area with voluntary technical standards including those that promote free trade, safety, protection of the environment, and public procurement.

    Federal Agency on Technology and Metrology (Russia)
    The Federal Agency on Technical Regulating and Metrology is a federal executive body that renders state services, administers public estate in the field of technical regulation and metrology, and carries out licensing activities. It also implements the functions on the state metrological control and supervision, and controls and supervises the compliance of mandatory requirements of state standards and technical regulations.

    International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
    The website of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) contains links to “Standards and World Trade” and to the ISO 9000: 2000 Quality Standards.

    Japan – Industrial Standards Committee
    The Japanese Industrial Standards Committee (JISC) is a coalition of many standards organizations in Japan. According to its website, it is responsible “for establishment and maintenance of JIS, administration of accreditation and certification, participation and contribution in international standardization activities, and development of measurement standards and technical infrastructure for standardization.”

    National Institute of Standards and Technology
    The National Institute of Standards and Technology is a non-regulatory federal agency that assists the private section in setting technical standards.

    The American National Standards Institute
    The American National Standards Institute is a private organization that coordinates the U.S. volunteer standardization and conformity assessment system.

Trade

    The European Commission – trade issues
    Website of the European Commission for trade issues. Under “Tackling Unfair Trade”, link to “Trade Barriers” for information on trade barrier regulations.

    U.S. International Trade Administration
    From the home page of the International Trade Administration, choose “Trade Topics” and link to “Market Access”. From there you can also access the “Trade Compliance Center.”

    U.S. International Trade Administration
    This site from the International Trade Administration – Office of Service Industries, Tourism and Finance offers the most comprehensive information for trade in services.

    U.S. Trade Representative – trade agreements and negotiations
    The home page of the U.S. Trade Representative contains links to all trade agreements negotiated by the United States, the National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers, and the report on the Identification of Trade Expansion Priorities.

    United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization
    United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization promotes international agricultural development, nutrition, and food security. The site contains information and links on such topics as bio-security, global warming, controlling “hoof-and-mouth” disease, and pesticide management.

    World Trade Organization
    For information on the WTO Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade, GATS and other WTO agreements discussed in this chapter, go to the WTO website and link to “Trade Topics.” The site contains easy to read explanations, statistics, and coverage of new multilateral trade negotiations on services and other topics.

    European Union – Trade
    Navigate to the home page for the European commission and reference “trade” under the alphabetical index.

    European Union – WTO disputes and other trade issues
    See the “Europa – The EU online” website for the European perspective on WTO disputes and other trade issues.

    Hong Kong – General information
    The Hong Kong Administrative Region of the PRC website contains comprehensive information on living and working in Hong Kong and includes links to government agency, education, employment, culture, health and medical services, and transportation information.

    Hong Kong – Trade Development Council
    The Hong Kong Trade Development Council website is a resource for the industries and business sectors in Hong Kong as well as information regarding trade shows, exhibitions, practical information on selling, distribution and marketing in Hong Kong, the Chinese mainland and Taiwan.

    Japan – WTO and trade issues
    Check out the website of the Japanese Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry for reports, publications and Japanese policy information, and links to well over 100 Japanese Web sites, mostly in English.

    U.S. International Trade Administration – Office of Automotive Affairs
    The U.S. International Trade Administration Office of Automotive Affairs contains Industry data, country reports, U.S./Japan trade agreements, and other issues of interest to the automotive industry.

    U.S. Mission to the European Union
    The U.S. Mission to the EU website contains information on U.S.-EU trade issues.

    U.S. Trade Representative
    The U.S. Trade Representative is America’s Chief Trade Negotiator, responsible for developing and implementing the trade policy of the United States. It is a cabinet-level post that advises the president on trade issues, directs negotiations with foreign countries, and acts as the President’s spokesperson on trade.

    World Trade Organization Dispute Settlement Reports
    For WTO dispute settlement reports, like those appearing in this book, go to the WTO homepage and go to the “Dispute Settlement” page and search or browse the “online document database.”

    Exporter’s Guide to U.S. Trade Agreements
    Go to this site to access the “Exporter’s Guide to U.S. Trade Agreements,” a quick, concise explanation of what trade agreements do for American firms.

    Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCen)
    Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCen) is the U.S. government agency that brings people and information together to fight the complex problem of international money laundering and financial crimes. The site links federal, state, local, and international law enforcement, regulatory, and financial communities.

    The U.S. Department of Treasury, Office of Foreign Assets Control
    The U.S. Department of Treasury, Office of Foreign Assets Control publishes OFAC-enforced trade sanctions against targeted foreign countries, organizations that sponsor international terrorism, and international narcotics traffickers.

    U.S. Court of International Trade
    Check out the website for the U.S. Court of International Trade to view USCIT rules and guidelines, forms, directory of court judges, and to access or e-file cases in CM/ECF.

    U.S. Department of State
    The U.S. Department of State is the lead U.S. foreign affairs agency.

    U.S. International Trade Administration
    The home page for the International Trade Administration contains links to many relevant sites, including countries, industries, export assistance, and trade statistics.

    U.S. International Trade Administration – Market Access and Compliance Center
    Go to the Market Access and Compliance Center to access the “Exporter’s Guide to U.S. Trade Agreements,” a quick, concise explanation of what trade agreements do for American firms.

    U.S. International Trade Commission
    The International Trade Commission is an independent federal agency that maintains the U.S. Harmonized Tariff Schedule, determines countervailing duty and safeguard investigations, directs actions against unfair trade practices involving patent, trademark, and copyright infringement, and supports policymakers through analysis and research on the global competitiveness of U.S. industries.

    U.S. Trade Representative
    The U.S. Trade Representative is America’s Chief Trade Negotiator, responsible for developing and implementing the trade policy of the United States. It is a cabinet-level post that advises the president on trade issues, directs negotiations with foreign countries, and acts as the President’s spokesperson on trade.

    USAENGAGE
    USAENGAGE is a coalition of American businesses that oppose U.S. trade sanctions and is committed to sustained U.S. involvement in world affairs and economic engagement with foreign countries.

Shipping

    Admiralty and Maritime Law Guide
    This website features a complete guide to legal matters affecting ocean shipping and the maritime industry.

    The Journal of Commerce
    The Journal of Commerce is an established and authoritative daily reporter on all matters affecting international air and sea transportation, customs, and trade issues.

    Cargo and shipping law
    For valuable information about all aspects of international air and sea shipping, access to treaties, regulations, case analysis, air and ocean transport law and logistics, analysis of statutes, case law, and conventions, Transportation Law Navigator, photos of historic bills of lading and other relevant links go to the Cargo Law website. This site also contains a photo gallery of great ocean and air cargo disasters.

    Comité Maritime International
    The Comité Maritime International is a nongovernmental organization devoted to the unification of maritime law.

    Federal Maritime Commission
    The Federal Maritime Commission is the U.S. agency responsible for regulating shipping in the foreign trades of the United States.

    Freight forwarding
    Visit this website for a comprehensive resource of legal information on freight forwarding.

    International Chamber of Commerce
    Go to International Chamber of Commerce website to access sites for the International Maritime Bureau, Commercial Crime Bureau, Counterfeiting Intelligence Bureau, Cybercrime Unit and the Piracy Reporting Centre.

    Maritime Global Net
    The “Maritime Global Net” contains information and communication resources for the international maritime community, links to ocean carriers, carrier shipping schedules, and ocean ports worldwide.

    The International Federation of Freight Forwarders Association
    FIATA is a non-governmental organization that represents an industry of approximately 40,000 forwarding and logistics firms in over 150 countries and consults with the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), and the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL).

    The National Customs Brokers and Forwarders Association of America
    The National Customs Brokers and Forwarders Association of America is a maritime advocacy group based in Washington DC. In addition to current regulatory and legislative issues, the organization also provides up-to-date sailing schedules, discounts, networking and certification programs.

How to Cite

Be consistent in the citation style you use. You can find APA and MLA guidelines here: