Resources for Justice Studies Research
About this guide
This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research on topics in Justice Studies courses.
SBCC has a fantastic Justice Studies program, providing degrees in Law Enforcement, Legal Studies, Criminology, and Administration of Justice for Transfer.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
Paper Writing Assistance:
Consult these campus resources for help with writing and editing:
About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource Center online writing tools
Need more help?
Keywords are the words you type into a search box to search for information on your topic. The words you use to describe your topic may be different from the words used by authors in the field of Justice Studies. For example, scholars who study police might also use terms such as law enforcement or peace officer. Similarly, searching with informal terms like cops will likely lead to less scholarly sources.
Watch the video below for a short tutorial on using keywords. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search.
Here are some suggested keywords for searching the library catalog for Justice Studies sources:
- Administration of Justice
- Criminal courts
- Criminal justice
- Criminal law
- Juvenile courts
- Juvenile justice
- Law enforcement
- Public policy
- Social justice
Print Reference Books
Print reference books are a good place to begin your research. For quick answers and facts, use these these excellent books in the library for short, credible answers to your questions.
You can take notes, or photocopy pages for ten cents a page. Examples of reference books are listed below:
- Black’s law dictionary — R 340.03 B627b 2009
- The encyclopedia of American law enforcement — R 363.20973 N565e 2007
- The encyclopedia of criminology and criminal justice — R 364.03 A326e 2014
- Crime and punishment in America : an encyclopedia of trends and controversies in the justice system — R 364.973 F513c 2017
Online Reference Books
The library also subscribes to many online reference books. To access these resources from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information. These are just a few of our reference ebooks:
Journal and magazine articles usually provide the most current information on a topic. Journal articles are more scholarly while magazine articles tend to be shorter and more general. Newspaper articles are the most current of the three periodical sources.
To find articles on your topic, use one of the online databases listed below. These databases usually provide full-text articles. For a successful search, you may need to use both subject keywords and specific names of legal or law enforcement agencies, justice issues, or individuals.
- Academic Search Premier is our largest database, with full text for more than 4,600 journals in many disciplines, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF files to 1975 or further back are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Newly added database! Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text: Includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice and criminology field, with more than 320 full-text magazines and journals.
- Military & Government Collection: Provides news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Includes periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals), and other content, including full text for nearly 300 periodicals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
- Click here for newspaper sources.
- The following two databases are excellent sources of “pros and cons”, covering all sides of controversial topics:
CQ Researcher: Each 12,000-word report includes: an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Includes continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Finding Articles Cited in Bibliographies
The sources cited in a bibliography or a “Works Cited”/References page, are good starting points for further research.
If you find a journal article in a bibliography, use the journals tab on the library home page and type the journal title (not the article title) in the search box. If the library has access to this particular journal, you will be directed to “search within this publication.” If we do not have full-text access to an article you need, you can utilize interlibrary loan.
This is a helpful link to understand how to “read” a citation.
Search the library catalog for print books and ebooks on your topic. If we don’t have what you need, you can get books and articles from other libraries by completing the Interlibrary loan — this may take from 5-10 days.
Can’t get to campus? You can search for eBooks (full books available online) only.
Quality Internet Resources
Keep in mind, while you are searching, that there is a great deal of poor information online.
Visit our research guide on finding credible resources on the internet.
Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Source Evaluation Questions to help you determine whether the sources you find are credible.
- Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) – The FBI’s Criminal Justice Information Services Division has the mission of “equipping our law enforcement, national security, and intelligence community partners with the criminal justice information they need to protect the United States while preserving civil liberties.”
- Justice Technology Information Center (JTIC) – A program within the U.S. Department of Justice, JTIC is a source of detailed data on the technologies used for security, safety, and monitoring in law enforcement, courts, and corrections.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) – Raw data to download about criminal justice. The mission of this organization “is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources”.
- National Criminal Justice Reference System – This is “a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.”
Sources of statistics
If you are primarily interested in statistics, try our research guide on sources of statistical information.
Additionally, the U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics site is the main federal source for criminal justice statistics across the United States.
- American Corrections Association (ACA) – Professional association of people who work in the Corrections industry.
- California Association of Criminalists – Statewide professional organization of forensic scientists.
- California State Department of Justice – Official state website.
- Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice (CJCJ) – A nonpartisan organization, “CJCJ provides direct services, technical assistance, and policy analysis that work in unison to promote a balanced and humane criminal justice system designed to reduce incarceration and enhance long-term public safety.”
- National Criminal Justice Association (NCJA) – NCJA’s purpose is to “advocate for effective criminal justice policy and funding for justice assistance programs across a broad range of policy issues.”
- Santa Barbara County Sheriff – Website of the Santa Barbara County Sheriff’s Office. Includes general information, investigative services, career opportunities, enforcement operations, programs, and links.
- United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) – UNODC aims “to strengthen international action against drug production, trafficking and drug-related crime…The Office works with Member States to strengthen the rule of law, promote stable and viable criminal justice systems and combat the growing threats of transnational organized crime and corruption.”