Resources For and About LGBTQIA Students
About this Guide
This guide provides information for and about Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer, Intersex and Asexual (LGBTQIA) people, as well as links to related support, financial resources, legal resources, and frequently asked questions (FAQ). Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
SBCC’s Mission Statement
AP 3410 NONDISCRIMINATION
AP 3430 PROHIBITION OF HARASSMENT
Student Health Services LGBTQ Resources
Queer and Ally Club
Paper Writing Assistance
Need More Help?
Interested in learning more about the library on your own?
Explore the library’s online tutorials.
To access online library resources from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your Pipeline username and password.
- Credo Reference – Encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books
- Library Catalog (books+) – Search SBCC’s library catalog to find print books and online ebooks.
- LAMBDA Literary Awards – The Lambda Literary Awards (the “Lammys”) identify and celebrate the best lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender books of the year and affirm that LGBTQ stories are part of the literature of the world.
To find articles from periodicals (newspapers, magazines, and academic journals), search the library databases below:
- Academic Search Complete – Magazine and journal articles
- CQ Researcher – Pro/con articles on current events
- Gender Watch – Unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas, including archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases; this database is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women’s movement, men’s studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
- Newspapers – National and international newspapers
American Library Association
- Pacific Pride Foundation
- Santa Barbara Transgender Advocacy Network
- UCSB Resource Center for Sexual & Gender Diversity
- Human Rights Campaign: LGBTQ Student Scholarship Database
- Point Foundation: The National LGBTQ Scholarship Fund
- Advocates for Youth: LGBTQ Research Guide
Advocates for Youth partners with youth leaders, adult allies, and youth-serving organizations to advocate for policies and champion programs that recognize young people’s rights to honest sexual health information; accessible, confidential, and affordable sexual health services; and the resources and opportunities necessary to create sexual health equity for all youth.
- Children’s Hospital Los Angeles: The Center for Transyouth Health and Development
The Center for Transyouth Health and Development at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles promotes healthy futures for transgender youth by providing services, research, training, and capacity building that is developmentally informed, affirmative, compassionate, and holistic for gender nonconforming children and transgender youth.
- Gender Spectrum
Gender Spectrum provides education, training, and support to help create a gender sensitive and inclusive environment for all children and teens.
GLAAD rewrites the script for LGBTQ acceptance. As a dynamic media force, GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change. GLAAD protects all that has been accomplished and creates a world where everyone can live the life they love.
- National Center for Transgender Equality
The National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE) is a 501(c)3 social justice organization dedicated to advancing the equality of transgender people through advocacy, collaboration, and empowerment. NCTE was founded in 2003 by transgender activists who saw the urgent need for a consistent voice in Washington, DC for transgender people.
- Transforming Family
A Los Angeles based family support group creating a positive environment for children, adolescents, and their families to explore issues of gender identity.
- TransYouth Family Allies
TYFA empowers children and families by partnering with educators, service providers and communities, to develop supportive environments in which gender may be expressed and respected.
- Welcoming Schools
Welcoming Schools offers professional development tools, lessons aligned with the Common Core State Standards, and many additional resources for elementary schools on:
* Embracing family diversity
* Avoiding gender stereotyping and affirming gender
* Ending bullying and name-calling
SBCC Legal Resources
SBCC is pleased to offer access to an attorney for FREE legal education and advice to SBCC’s currently enrolled students. The attorney is located on the main campus in the Office of Student Life (CC-217) on Wednesdays from 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM by appointment, and drop-ins are seen if time permits. Students can call (805) 730-4062 or email firstname.lastname@example.org, to schedule an appointment.
The attorney can speak with students about criminal matters, immigration issues, landlord/tenant/roommate disputes, consumer issues, family law, traffic tickets, personal injury, credit/debt problems, small claims, and other areas of law. The service is not available for students experiencing an issue with another student, or with the college. Contact the Office of Student Life to schedule an appointment today.
Local Legal Resources
- California Rural Legal Assistance
22 N. Milpas Street, Ste. F, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Nonprofit legal service program created to help California’s low-income individuals and communities.
- Legal Aid Foundation of Santa Barbara County
301 E. Canon Perdido Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Legal assistance is provided free to low-income people and senior citizens.
- Santa Barbara Teen Legal Clinic
1215 De La Vina Street, Suite I Santa Barbara, CA 93191
Provides services to teens and youth.
General Legal Resources
- American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU): LGBT Rights
For almost 100 years, the ACLU has worked to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties guaranteed by the Constitution and laws of the United States.
- Transgender Law Center
Transgender Law Center works to change law, policy, and attitudes so that all people can live safely, authentically, and free from discrimination regardless of their gender identity or expression.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
- United Nations LGBT Rights: Frequently Asked Questions
- PFLAG Atlanta: Frequently Asked Questions about LGBT
- LGBTQIA Resource Center: Glossary
- LGBTQIA Resource Center: Pronouns
- Non-Binary Gender Identities
- Trans Student Educational Resources (TSER): Gender Grammar
- Transgender Law Center: Peeing in Peace
Luria Library has gender-neutral restrooms available.
A gender-neutral restroom sign is posted on the door next to the cyber center.
Click this link for a map showing the library’s gender-neutral bathrooms or ask any staff member for directions. The library is a safe and inclusive space.
Below are some resources for creating citations for sources found on the internet and through library databases.
More resources are available on the Citation Guides page.