Marketing 205 – Barro
About this guide
This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research for the final project in Marketing 205 with Professor Barro.
Choose a theory of consumer behavior that interest you; many are covered over the course of the semester. Research and select 3 to 5 academic journal articles on this theory. Study the articles and synthesize the information explaining the important parts of the theory. Discuss how this theory can be applied to marketing. Discuss any examples of how it has been used in the past for marketing purposes and if it was successful (why or why not?). Do not use examples we already covered in class. Discuss the ethics of using this theory to market more successfully. Should it be done (why or why not)?
Paper Writing Assistance
Need more help?
If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.
Sometimes the words you use to describe a topic are different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search.
- Consumer behavior
- Communication in marketing
- Consumer behavior psychological aspects
- Consumer behavior social aspects
- Consumers attitudes
- Consumers psychology
- Consumers research
- Consumption economics social aspects
- Customer services marketing
- Economics psychological aspects
- Economics sociological aspects
- Identity psychology
- Internet marketing
- Marketing psychological aspects
- Marketing research
- Marketing social aspects
- Motivation psychology
- Motivation research marketing
- Relationship marketing
- Target marketing
Print Reference Sources
Reference Books are a good place to begin your research. You can take notes, or photocopy pages for ten cents a page. These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section.
Print Reference Sources
- Dictionary of Marketing Terms — R 658.8003 B472d
- Dictionary of Marketing and Advertising — R 658.8003 R813d
Online Reference Sources
This resource is available online and will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus:
- Credo Reference A database that includes the full text of over 500 reference books.
Search the library catalog for books on your topic. Your search results will include articles as well. Limit to books by choosing the appropriate box from the menu to the left of the results.
Search for articles in the following databases. These resources will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Provides abstracts and full text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers), in all disciplines of business, including marketing. Also includes company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, and market research reports.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)
Provides full-text articles from over 450 journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCOhost) Contains more than 153,000 full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and related organizations.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) Includes nearly 560 full text publications, some dating back as far as 1965, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Academic Search Premier: a multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
National Newspapers Expanded (ProQuest)
Provides the full text of five of the most read and widely-respected newspapers in the U.S: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; and Washington Post.
Finding good websites for college research can be difficult and time-consuming. Use the C.A.R.S. system to evaluate any websites you find:
- Credibility: Is an author listed? What are the author’s credentials? Is there evidence of positive peer evaluation?
- Accuracy: Is the date of the site current? Is the information complete and not too vague? Does the author acknowledge all views?
- Reasonableness: Is the author fair and objective? Is the author concerned with the truth?
- Support: Does the author provide support for the information? Are the sources listed?
Consider using one of the reliable websites below:
- ipl2: “Information you can trust,” compiled by librarians and other educators.
You can find a longer list of recommended websites on the Luria Library’s Internet Links page.
How to Cite
You must use APA citation style for your references. The library has print copies of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association on reserve, and at the reference desk. You can find online APA citation guidelines here: