Marketing 209 – Barro
About this guide
This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research for the project in Marketing 209 with Professor Barro.
Choose a U.S. company and an international company that compete in the same space. Compare them based on some key indicators, such as firm size, performance, strategic process as well as management and governance. Then, make three strategic recommendations for the two companies.
Paper Writing Assistance
Need more help?
If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.
Print Reference Sources
Reference Books are a good place to begin your research. You can take notes, or photocopy pages for ten cents a page. These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section.
Print Reference Sources
- Value Line — R 332.6305 V215 Pt.1, 2, 3
Online Reference Sources
This resource is available online and will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus:
- Morningstar Provides a series of comprehensive databases on many types of investments, focusing on investment vehicles that are widely used by investors globally.
Finding good websites for college research can be difficult and time-consuming. Use the C.A.R.S. system to evaluate any websites you find:
- Credibility: Is an author listed? What are the author’s credentials? Is there evidence of positive peer evaluation?
- Accuracy: Is the date of the site current? Is the information complete and not too vague? Does the author acknowledge all views?
- Reasonableness: Is the author fair and objective? Is the author concerned with the truth?
- Support: Does the author provide support for the information? Are the sources listed?
Consider using one of the reliable websites below:
- Annual Reports.com Provides annual reports of many publicly held companies, including most of the Fortune 500.
- EDGAR This official Securities and Exchanges Commission site offers annual reports and 10-K statements of all publicly held companies.
- Yahoo! Finance Investment news from around the globe.
You can find a longer list of recommended websites on the Luria Library’s Internet Links page.
Search for articles in the following databases. These resources will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Provides abstracts and full text articles from periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers), in all disciplines of business, including marketing. Also includes company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, and market research reports.
- Academic Search Premier: a multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
- National Newspapers Expanded (ProQuest)
Provides the full text of five of the most read and widely-respected newspapers in the U.S: New York Times; Los Angeles Times; Wall Street Journal; Christian Science Monitor; and Washington Post.
Search the library catalog for books on your topic. Your search results will include articles as well. Limit to books by choosing the appropriate box from the menu to the left of the results.
How to Cite
You must use APA citation style for your references. The library has print copies of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association on reserve, and at the reference desk. You can find online APA citation guidelines here: