Library Services for Online Students
About this Guide
As an online student, you are entitled to many excellent resources and services from the SBCC Luria Library. Follow the tabs on this guide to learn more about what we can offer you remotely, and contact us whenever you have questions!
When accessing these ebook collections from off-campus, you may be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.
Credo Reference (Credo Reference)
Contains the full text of nearly 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Thousands of Topics Pages provide articles from different reference sources, arranged by subject. Includes “gadgets” for finding images, definitions, people, pronunciations, quotations, and measurement conversations, as well as a concept map feature for help identifying keywords and broadening or narrowing a topic. Additional features include videos, maps, and animations.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
Contains the full text of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, government and political science, religion, science, and social sciences.
Tips for using this collection:
- This collection includes multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, and specialized reference sources.
- Search for information on your topic by keyword. Select “entire document” under the search box to expand your results
- Browse a particular resource by selecting a title within a subject discipline.
Fiction and Nonfiction Books
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
A collection of over 22,000 electronic books, in all subject areas, selected for the Luria Library collection.
Tips for using this collection:
- Browse books by category and topic using the left-hand menu.
- Search for books on any topic in this collection by keyword.
- Used the advanced search to limit books by author, date, language, and more.
ebrary College Complete (ProQuest)
Provides unlimited, multi-use access to more than 26,800 ebooks in a range of subject areas, such as business, computer science, and health.
Digital Book Sources
This list provides links to a variety of different sources of free online books.
Search the Luria Library catalog for print and electronic books. Search for books by author, title or keyword.
Tips for obtaining print books:
- Search the library catalog for books on your topic. Search by author, title or keyword. Your search results will include articles as well. Limit to books by choosing the appropriate box from the menu to the left of the results. To find the best articles, use the databases listed in the “Articles” section of this guide.
- We are happy to mail books to you if you do not live in the immediate Santa Barbara area. Please send an email to library [at] sbcc.edu with your request, and please include your student ID number and mailing address.
- You can renew materials from our library collection by phone, in person, or online (by signing into your account) as long as no other person has requested the material. You may renew materials up to five times; if you need the item longer, please contact the circulation desk at 805-730-4430. If in doubt, please contact us before the item is due.
As an online student, you have full access to all our paid subscription databases from off-campus. All you need is your Pipeline username and password. When you click to access a resource from off-campus that is restricted to SBCC students, faculty and staff, you’ll be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password. If you have forgotten your Pipeline username and/or password, you can retrieve them from the Pipeline login screen.
Search for articles and other resources on your topic in the library databases listed below. When accessing any of these resources remotely, you’ll be prompted to login with your Pipeline username and password. View a full list of library databases here.
- Academic Search Complete: a great place to start, Academic Search Premier provides full text and Provides abstracts for articles from nearly 13,200 periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers) in all subject areas, and full text articles from nearly 8,750 periodicals, including more than 7,550 peer-reviewed journals. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Full text PDF content dates back as far as 1887.
- JSTOR: this database contains full text of hundreds of scholarly journals. The journals are available in full text from the first volume up until five years ago. Useful for literary criticism and history.
- Project MUSE: search this very useful, often neglected full text database for the contents of 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Subject Specific Resources:
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Provides full text for more than 600 journals; with full text coverage dating back to 1981; searchable cited references for more than 1,290 journals.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete: Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
- Gale Literature Resource Center: Search here for literary criticism of fiction, nonfiction, short stories, and dramas from all time periods and all languages.
- GREENR: Global Reference on the Environment, Energy and Natural Resources is a new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
- History Reference Center: Covers material from all time periods of U.S. and World History from wide variety of sources. Includes historical documents, such as treaties, biographies of famous historical people, as well as photos, maps, and historical videos. Primary source material is also accessible through this set of databases.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences: Provides coverage of more than 576 full text journals, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles; covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods
- More: consult this complete list of library databases to find other resources.
How to Cite
Review the citation guides page on our website for a comprehensive set of resources for creating citations. Check with your professor about which citation style to use for a given assignment. Follow the links below for help with some of the most common citation styles.
APA – American Psychological Association
APA style is commonly used in the social sciences, like psychology and sociology, and in business and nursing.
- APA Formatting and Style Guide from Purdue University’s Online Writing Lab
APSA – American Political Science Association:
APSA style is often used in political science.
- APSA Documentation Guide from The University of Wisconsin-Madison
Chicago Manual of Style
Chicago style is used in many disciplines, but most typically in history and the humanities.
- Chicago Formatting and Style Guide from Purdue University’s Online Writing Lab
CSE – Council of Science Editors Style
CSE style is used in biology and other sciences.
- CSE style guide from Bedford/St. Martin’s and librarians at Gustavus Adolphus College.
MLA – Modern Language Association
MLA style is most typically used when writing papers in the liberal arts or humanities.
- MLA formatting and style guide from Purdue University’s Online Writing Lab
About the Library
Visit the Luria Library YouTube Channel to get to know your library and librarians a bit better!
“Like” our page on Facebook as another way to stay connected to your library.
These video tutorials will familiarize you with the EBSCO database interface, common for many of the library’s databases:
“Know More Now” Workshops
If you visit campus, you are welcome to use all of the services and resources of the Luria Library. We have over 115,000 books, more than 300 print periodical subscriptions and 8 newspaper subscriptions. Reference services are available during the library’s open hours, listed on the right.
Whether you come to campus or not, take a look at this video to become better acquainted with your library. We’re here to serve you on- and off-campus!
Contact a Librarian:
There are many ways to contact your librarians. Contact us in any of the ways listed here!
Use the box on the left of this screen to talk with a librarian. This is generally available during our regular library hours. You can add us to your buddy list if you use gmail, Yahoo!, or Meebo – our user name is lurialibrary
Use the comment form. Be sure to click Post it Privately after entering question or comment.
805-730-4444 for Reference. Call 805-730-4430 for all other needs.
Send text message to 805-699-5874 (typically available during our open hours)
Please chat, email, text or call for an appointment, or stop by the reference desk to talk with a librarian!