PE 176 – Dorfhuber – Fitness Yoga

yoga posture


CC0 image from Pixabay.

About this Guide

This guide provides students with recommended resources for finding information and conducting research related to yoga. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of the guide.

Need More Help?

If you need more help finding what you need, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, email, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.Contact Us

Library Tutorials

Interested in learning more about the library on your own?
Explore the library’s online tutorials.

Reference Sources

Reference sources are a great place to start to get topic ideas, narrow a topic you’ve already chosen, get background information, and help you identify more keywords to use when searching for books and articles.

Print Reference Sources

The following books are available in the Luria Library Reference section:

  • Krishna in History, Thought, and Culture: An Encyclopedia of the Hindu Lord of Many Names — R 294.5 V446k 2016
  • Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices — R 291.03 M528r

Online Reference Sources

These reference sources are available online and will require you to log in with your Pipeline account information from off campus:

Books

Use the library catalog (books+) to find information about yoga. To limit to books, choose the appropriate box from the menu to the left of your search results.

Yoga Information Online

Magazines and Journals

From off campus, you will need to login with your Pipeline username and password.

  • Academic Search Complete is the library’s largest database covering a wide variety of subjects, including yoga.
  • Alt HealthWatch provides articles covering many perspectives on complementary, alternative, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, including yoga.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes articles from nursing and allied health journals covering a range of topics, including yoga.

Recommended Articles

From off campus, you will need to login with your Pipeline username and password.

Yoga and Health

Yoga and Well Being

Yoga and Fitness

Videos

Alexander Street Press Videos
Provides online access to nearly 43,000 academic videos in a wide range of subjects and disciplines, including environmental sustainability. From off campus, you will need to login with your Pipeline username and password.

Learning Resource Center

The LRC is located across from the library and has several yoga related videos.
Search for videos in their Resource Catalog.

Videos on the Web

  • My stroke of insight — “Jill Bolte Taylor got a research opportunity few brain scientists would wish for: She had a massive stroke, and watched as her brain functions — motion, speech, self-awareness — shut down one by one. An astonishing story.”
    Why you should listen to her:
    Amazed to find herself alive, Taylor spent eight years recovering her ability to think, walk and talk. She has become a spokesperson for stroke recovery and for the possibility of coming back from brain injury stronger than before. In her case, although the stroke damaged the left side of her brain, her recovery unleashed a torrent of creative energy from her right. From her home base in Indiana, she now travels the country on behalf of the Harvard Brain Bank as the “Singin’ Scientist.”

Quality Internet Resources

Keep in mind, while you are searching, that there is a great deal of poor information online.
Visit our research guide Finding Credible Web Sources for tips on finding quality yoga information on the internet.

Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Source Evaluation Questions to help you determine whether the sources you find are credible.

Yoga Resources and Teacher Training