Psychology 200 – Bursten

About this guide

Students will find print and electronic resources on the topic of Psychology Research. The information sources contained in this guide are recommended sources for students to conduct research.

Use the tabs above to navigate through this guide.

Reference sources

These resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section.

  • Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders — R 616.89 A512d 2000
  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association — R 808.066 A512p

Books

Your textbooks and assigned readings are on reserve in the library.

Copies of most articles are available online. Click on the title of the article you need, and follow the “View full text” link to read or print the article. From off campus, you will be prompted to log in using your Pipeline account information.

Check the catalog for other books in psychology. Your search results will include articles as well. Limit to books by choosing the appropriate box from the menu to the left of the results. To find the best articles for this class, use the databases listed in the “Articles” section of this guide.

Articles in databases

In addition to the assigned readings on reserve, you will find many psychology articles in the library’s online databases. To access the databases from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information.

PsycARTICLES (EBSCOhost)
Contains more than 153,000 full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and related organizations.

    Type a keyword search over your topic.

    Tip: Don’t type a question into the search box…instead, enter the most important keywords.

    After your results display, you can narrow by date, full-text and other limiters by using the left-side limiter bar. PsycArticles will return only full-text articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals.

    To get more information about an article, click on the article title, which is highlighted in blue.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)
Includes nearly 560 full text publications, some dating back as far as 1965, covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Articles free online

Google Scholar may offer access to articles you need for your research.
Medline from National Library of Medicine.

  • PLOS (Public Library of Science) One is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access, online publication, with primary research from any scientific discipline.
  • Interlibrary Loan

    To obtain copies of journal articles not available at the Luria Library you can fill out an Interlibrary Loan Request. Interlibrary loan is a free service for students. Interlibrary loan service makes it possible for students to request copies of articles or borrow books from another library. Students are advised to request loans early in the research process as loans can take three to ten days.

    More Help

    Visit, chat, phone or text with a librarian.