Resources For and About Undocumented Students

refuge-2022868_1920

CC0 public domain image from Pixabay

About this Guide

This guide provides information for and about undocumented students, as well as links to related support, financial resources, legal resources, and frequently asked questions (FAQ).

Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.

SBCC Resources

Recent Documents

Need More Help?

Have a question? Stop by the Reference & Information desk, or contact a librarian by phone or chat for more help.
Contact Us

To access online library resources from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your Pipeline username and password.

Reference Sources

  • Credo Reference – Encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books

Books

Articles

To find articles from periodicals (newspapers, magazines, and academic journals), search the library databases below:

American Library Association

Local workshops to renew DACA from CAUSE. Click image to enlarge.

Local Resources

  • SBCC Scholarships
    Provides numerous general as well as program specific scholarships.
  • AB 540 Coalition of Santa Barbara
    This coalition collaborates with community groups to provide workshops that share resources, form alliances, and spread the word about AB540.
  • ADSUM
    (Ad-suhm): Latin for, “I am here.” This Santa Barbara County non-profit group provides educational scholarships for students who do not have access to federal sources of financial aid.
  • CAL-SOAP
    In partnership with the Community Action Commission of Santa Barbara, The California Student Opportunity and Access Program provides tutoring and financial aid advising services to local high school students.
  • CAUSE (Central Coast Alliance United for A Sustainable Economy): Immigrant Rights and Integration
    CAUSE’s mission is to build grassroots power to invoke social, economic and environmental justice for the people of California’s Central Coast Region through policy research, leadership development, organizing, and advocacy.
  • El Centro SB
    El Centro is a volunteer-run, radically inclusive “for the community, by the community” space on the lower Westside of Santa Barbara.
  • Just Communities of Santa Barbara
    A Santa Barbara organization that works to ensure that Central Coast schools, organizations, and communities are places of opportunity, not places of limitation.
    Communidades Justas en Español

Additional Resources

Scholarship Support

Individual Scholarship Opportunities

unnamed

Images from ACLU. Click to enlarge.

SBCC Legal Resources

SBCC is pleased to offer access to an attorney for FREE legal education and advice to SBCC’s currently enrolled students. The attorney is located on the main campus in the Office of Student Life (CC-217) on Fridays from 1:30 – 4:00 by appointment, and drop-ins are seen if time permits. Students can call (805) 730-4062 or email collinsa@sbcc.edu, to schedule an appointment.

The attorney can speak with students about criminal matters, immigration issues, landlord/tenant/roommate disputes, consumer issues, family law, traffic tickets, personal injury, credit/debt problems, small claims, and other areas of law. The service is not available for students experiencing an issue with another student, or with the college. Contact the Office of Student Life to schedule an appointment today.

Local Legal Resources

  • California Rural Legal Assistance
    805-963-5982
    En Español
    know your rights en espanol


    22 N. Milpas Street, Ste. F, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
    Nonprofit legal service program created to help California’s low-income individuals and communities.
  • Immigrant Hope of Santa Barbara
    805-963-0166
    En Español
    935 San Andres Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
    Offers low-cost legal advice & services
    regarding the U.S. immigration processes in a safe and caring environment.
  • Importa
    805-604-5060
    129 East Carrillo Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
    Non-profit provider of immigration legal services
  • Santa Barbara Teen Legal Clinic
    805-962-3344
    1215 De La Vina Street, Suite I Santa Barbara, CA 93191
    Provides services to teens and youth.

General Legal Resources

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

AB540

California Dream Act

What is the California Dream Act?
The California Dream Act refers to Assembly Bill 130 & 131 that passed through California legislature in 2011. AB 130 & 131 enabled eligible undocumented students to receive state funded financial aid and privately funded scholarships. The California Dream Act has nothing to do with immigration or pathway to citizenship. It is only for the purposes of receiving state financial aid.

DACA

What is DACA?
Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) is an executive order by President Obama which granted eligible undocumented youth a 2-year renewable temporary relief from deportation, a social security number for work authorization & driver license/identification. DACA does not currently provide a long term pathway to citizenship.

DAPA

What is DAPA?
DAPA is a prosecutorial discretion program administered by USCIS that provides temporary relief from deportation (called deferred action) and work authorization to unauthorized parents of U.S. citizens or Lawful Permanent Residents (LPRs). The DAPA program resembles the DACA program in some important aspects, but the eligibility criteria are distinct. The program will be open to individuals who:

  • have a U.S. citizen or LPR son or daughter as of November 20, 2014;
  • have continuously resided in the United States since before January 1, 2010;
  • are physically present in the United States on November 20, 2014, and at the time of applying;
  • have no lawful immigration status on November 20, 2014;
  • are not an enforcement priority, which is defined to include individuals with a wide range of criminal convictions (including certain misdemeanors), those suspected of gang involvement and terrorism, recent unlawful entrants, and certain other immigration law violators present no other factors that would render a grant of deferred action inappropriate; and
  • pass a background check.

DAPA grants will last for three years. The DAPA program should be ready to receive applications within 180 days.

SB150

What is SB150?
Senate Bill 150 passed in 2013, where concurrently enrolled students (high school students enrolled in college classes) who are classified as non-resident students for fee/tuition purposes may be eligible for the SB150 waiver of non-resident fees while still in high school. Students must be part-time (enrolled in 11 units or less) who currently reside in California and are attending high school in California.

SB1159

What is SB1159?
Senate Bill 1159: California to Grant Professional Licenses for Undocumented Young People (Accept ITINs) passed 2014, which allows undocumented students, to apply for a driver license and have an identification.

FAFSA

What is FAFSA?
FAFSA stands for Free application for federal student aid.Undocumented students, including DACA recipients, are not eligible for federal student aid, but you may still be eligible for state or college aid , in addition to private scholarships. Check with your college or career school’s financial aid office for more information.
It does not matter if the student’s parents are undocumented, under-documented or foreign citizens. The student is still eligible for federal student aid. When filing the FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid), the student’s parents should enter 000-00-0000 as the Social Security Number.

Citation Guidelines

Below are some resources for creating citations for sources found on the internet and through library databases.
More resources are available on the Citation Guides page.

Legal Citation

MLA 8th Edition Citation Style from Purdue Owl

MLA 8th Edition Citation Style from Camosun College

APA Citation Style from Purdue Owl

APA Citation Style from Camosun College