Resources for Culinary Arts and Hospitality Research
About this guide
Students will find recommended print and electronic resources for research on Culinary Arts and Hospitality Topics.
Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of this guide.
The library also subscribes to some Online Reference Books. To access this resource from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information:
- Credo Reference, like a library of reference books online!
Journal and magazine articles usually provide the most current information on a topic. Journal articles are more scholarly while magazine articles tend to be shorter and more general. Newspaper articles are the most current of the three periodical sources and another good source of information.
To find articles on your topic, use one of the online databases listed below. These databases usually provide full-text articles.
You can search for articles in our general database of periodicals: Academic Search Premier. You can also select a more specific database from these choices:
You can search the full-text of five major newspapers by selecting ”National Newspapers.”
Search the library catalog for print books and ebooks on a topic or interest. We have books about many different topics covered in Culinary and Hospitality courses, including:
- business plans
- personal chef businesses
- wine and beer
There is a HUGE collection of cookbooks in the Luria Library.
These include classic, new, and unusual titles.
Browse the shelves to see what you can find.
Start at the number 641.5 or ask a librarian for help.
Let us know if you have suggestions for other cookbooks to have in our collection by contacting a librarian.
Can’t get to campus? You can search just for eBooks (full books that are available online).
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
A collection of over 22,000 electronic books, in all subject areas, selected for the Luria Library collection.
Tips for using this collection:
- Browse books by category and topic using the left-hand menu.
- Search for books on any topic in this collection by keyword.
- Used the advanced search to limit books by author, date, language, and more.
ebrary College Complete (ProQuest) gives you more than 26,800 ebooks in a range of subject areas, such as business, computer science, and health.
Quality Internet Resources
Keep in mind, while you are searching, that there is a great deal of poor information online. Here are some quality websites you might want to examine.
Food and Beverage Industry
Just Drinks Global beverage industry news, market research and analysis
Just Food Global food industry news, market research and analysis.
How to Comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act: A Guide for Restaurants and Other Food Service Employers
Food and Nutrition Information
Choose My Plate A USDA food guidance system.
Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Surveys Data from What We Eat in America survey, the dietary intake component of the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES).
Food Consumption Surveys
Food FYI: National Food and Nutrition Information Center
Food Yields Conversion Charts
USDA National Nutrient Food Composition Database Search over 8,000 foods, by food item, group, or list to find the nutrient information for your food items. In addition, you can now access the USDA Ground Beef Calculator from the same search page.
HospitalityNet All of Hospitality on the Web Provides industry news, job listings, and an index to other hospitality web sites.
Hotel Online A news service for the hospitality industry. Includes news, discussion forums, employment opportunities, classified advertising, and information on product pricing and trends.
American Culinary Federation Official web site for the American Culinary Federation (ACF), Inc., a professional, not-for-profit organization for chefs and cooks, offering news and sources for professional development.
American Hotel & Lodging Association
International Council on Hotel, Restaurant, and Institutional Education Offers information on programs in hotel and restaurant management, foodservice management and culinary arts and helps students facilitate exchanges of information, ideas, research, training and resource development for the hospitality and tourism industry.
National Restaurant Association Offers career advice, information on training seminars, products, and research.
Restaurant ReportThe online version of the monthly magazine Restaurant Report, offers business news and feature articles. Provides access to classified ads and suppliers of restaurant equipment. Contains a buyer’s guide and information on management issues.
Citing Your Sources
Besides your librarians, there are many sources of online citation help available.
This Citation Worksheet is a helpful way to keep track of your sources and all the elements you will need for citing them in your paper.
MLA Formatting Guides
Need more help?
Ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help.
If we don’t have what you need, you can get articles from other libraries by completing the INTERLIBRARY LOAN Form— this may take from 5-10 days.