Resources for Film and Television Research
About this guide
This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research on topics related to Film and Television. Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of the guide.
Paper Writing Assistance
Need more help?
Online Reference Books
The library subscribes to some online reference sources. When accessing these resources from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Pipeline username and password.
- Chambers Film Factfinder: “a collection of useful and often fascinating information on many aspects of film, from the early days of silent cinema to the twenty-first century.”
- Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema
- Historical Dictionary of American Cinema
- Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction Cinema
- History of American Cinema (8 volumes)
Topic Pages from Credo Reference
These pages are “designed as an all-in-one starting point for students to begin their research process.” You’ll find links to other library resources on these topic pages. Give them a try!
Print Reference Books
Reference books are a good place to begin your research. These print resources are available in the Luria Library Reference section.
- The Oxford Handbook of Film and Media Studies — R 791.43 K81o 2008
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film — R 791.4303 G761s
- The Complete Film Dictionary — R 791.43 K82c
Search the library catalog for books on your topic. The library’s collection includes both print books and online ebooks.
Watch this 3-minute video for a demonstration of how to use the library catalog to find books:
Keywords are the words you type into a search box to search for information on your topic. The words you use to describe your topic may be different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. For example, the catalog often uses the term “motion picture” instead of “film” or “movie.” Some other terms related to film include:
film noir and criticism
mise en scene
motion pictures and style
motion pictures and gender
motion pictures setting and scenery
motion picture directors
scorsese and criticism
hollywood and motion pictures and history
documentary films history and criticism
If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search.
Books are arranged on the library shelves by call number. A book’s call number is like the address for the book on the shelf. The beginning of the call number corresponds to the subject of the book. This infographic shows the call numbers for some common film topics:
Articles from periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers) often provide current information and scholarly research on a topic. To find articles on topics related to Film and Television, search the following databases:
- Academic Search Premier: Provides full text for more than 4,600 periodicals (magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals) in all subject areas, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Watch the 5-minute video “How to Search for Articles in Luria Library Databases: Academic Search Premier” for help using this database.
- JSTOR: Contains articles from hundreds of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including the journal Film Quarterly.
- Project MUSE: Provides complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals in subject areas such as: ethnic studies; art and architecture; literature; education; film; theatre and performing arts; and more. Contains over 525 journals, 335 of which are full text. A good source of scholarly articles for advanced literary criticism.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete: Provides full-text articles from over 450 journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
- Newspaper Source Plus: Beyond newspapers, this resource provides more than 857,000 full text television and radio news transcripts.
- Master FILE Premier: Includes a number of trade publications about and for the film and television industry, including Variety, Broadcasting & Cable, Hollywood Reporter, and Television Week.
Finding good websites for college research can be difficult and time-consuming. Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Test for Evaluating Sources to evaluate the websites you find on your own.
Film and Television Catalogs
- American Film Institute: Among other things, AFI “preserves the legacy of America’s film heritage through the AFI Archive… and the AFI Catalog of Feature Films, an authoritative record of American films from 1893 to the present.”
- Box Office Mojo: This website, operated by IMDb, provides reporting data for box office earnings, statistics, and rankings for films in U.S. and international markets.
- The Internet Movie Database: IMDb describes itself as “the world’s most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content.”
- UCLA Film and Television Archive: “The UCLA Film & Television Archive is the second largest moving image archive in the United States after the Library of Congress, and the world’s largest university-based media archive.”
How to Cite
MLA citation style is most typically used when writing papers in the liberal arts or humanities. Double check with your professor about which citation style is required for your assignments.
MLA Citation Guidelines
- The MLA 8th Edition formatting and style guide: broad overview of MLA style from Purdue University’s Online Writing Lab.
- MLA 8th Edition Citation Style Guide from Camosun College: provides great examples of citations for a spectrum of sources.