Resources for Radiologic Science Research
About this Guide
This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research on topics related to radiologic science. Use the tabs above to navigate through the pages of the guide.
Paper Writing Assistance
Need More Help?
You may perform a search in using a set of keywords or subjects (or any of several other criteria if needed). Here are some examples of terms for a keyword or subject search:
Ultrasonics in medicine
Reference books are a good place to find background information. When accessing these resources from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your Pipeline username and password:
Online Reference Databases
- Credo Reference contains the full text of nearly 600 encyclopedias, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and other reference books covering all major subject areas. Additional features include videos, maps, and animations.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library contains the full text of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, government and political science, religion, science, and social sciences.
<h2Print Reference Sources
The following medical reference books are available in the Luria Library Reference section:
Stedman’s Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing — R 610.3 S812s
Magill’s Medical Guide — R 610 S163m 2014 V.1
Check out the library catalog (books+) to search the library’s entire collection of print books, ebooks, and articles.
Radiological Titles Available as eBooks
The library has access to a large collection of full-text online books from EBSCOhost, some of which are related to radiologic science.
The eBook collection (EBSCOhost) is a collection of over 22,000 electronic books in all subject areas:
- A-Z of Musculoskeletal and Trauma Radiology
- A-Z of Emergency Radiology
- A-Z of Chest Radiology
- Radiology Made Easy
- Radiography Procedure and Competency Manual
- Learning Diagnostic Imaging : 100 Essential Cases
Interlibrary Loan is a free service for students. Students can request copies of articles or borrow books from another library. Students are advised to request loans early in the research process as loans can take three to ten days.
Use the following list of recommended periodical databases to find articles on nursing and healthcare related topics. When you access these databases, from home you will need your pipeline username and password.
- ALT Healthwatch provides articles covering many perspectives on complementary, alternative, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full text articles for more than 180 journals and reports, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Includes abstracts of articles going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, covering nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Provides full text for more than 770 journals and more than 275 books/monographs, and indexing for more than 4,600 journals. Contains more than 2.8 million records dating back to 1981, with full-text coverage dating back to 1937. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,350 journals are also included.
- Health Source – Consumer Edition contains nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
- Health Source – Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
- MEDLINE includes citations and abstracts for journal articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Some full text articles are available. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
- Health Resources searches the following EBSCOhost health, nursing, and medicine databases at once: Alt HealthWatch; CINAHL Plus with Full Text; Health Source – Consumer Edition; Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition; and MEDLINE.
The library subscribes to several journals and magazines, some of which are related to radiologic research:
Figuring out whether the information you find online is credible enough for college research can be challenging. Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Source Evaluation Questions to help you determine whether the sources you find are credible:
- Purpose: How and why the source was created. Is it intended to educate, inform, persuade, sell, or entertain? Do the authors, publishers, or sponsors state this purpose, or try to disguise it? Why was this information published in this particular type of source (book, article, website, blog, etc.)? Is the source designed for the general public, students, or experts?
- Relevance: The value of the source for your needs. Does the type of source meet your assignment’s requirements? Does the information answer your question, support your argument, or add something to your knowledge of the topic? Is it too general or too specific? Is it too basic or too advanced?
- Objectivity: The reasonableness and completeness of the information. Do the authors present the information thoroughly and professionally? Is it fact or opinion? Is it biased? Do the authors use strong, emotional, manipulative, or offensive language? Do they leave out, or make fun of, important facts or alternative perspectives?
- Verifiability: The accuracy and truthfulness of the information. Do the authors support the information they present with strong factual evidence? Do they cite or provide links to other sources? What do experts say about the topic? Can you verify the information in other credible sources? Does the source contradict itself, include false statements, or misrepresent other sources?
- Expertise: The authority of the creators of the source. What makes the authors, publishers, or sponsors of the source authorities on the topic? Do they have related education, experience, or other expertise? Do they provide an important alternative perspective? Has the source been reviewed in some way, such as by an editor or through peer review?
- Newness: The age of the information. Is your topic in an area that requires current information (such as science, technology, or current events), or could information found in older sources still be useful? When was the information presented in the source first published or posted? Are newer sources available that would add important information to your understanding of the topic?
- Finding Credible Web Sources
Links to the library’s research guide on credible internet sources.
- MedlinePlus Guide to Healthy Web Surfing
Tips for evaluating health information you find online.
Internet Search Tips
American Psychological Association (APA) citation style is most typically used when writing papers in the social sciences.
The following resources will help you properly cite your sources in APA format: