Sociology 118 – Estrada

social issues word map

Home

About this guide

This guide provides recommended resources for research for Sociology 118 with Professor Estrada. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of the guide.

Your Assignment

Using credible sources to support your arguments, debate one of the following topics:

    1. Do video games have a negative impact on players?
    2. Is misrepresentation in the media harmful for society?
    3. Are social networking sites good for society?
    4. Should our online activities be private?
    5. Is technology making us more alienated, less sociable and less human?
    6. Is file-sharing stealing?
    7. Is television an effective learning tool for children?

Paper Writing Assistance

Need more help?

If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.Contact Us

Keywords

The words you use to describe a topic may be different from the words used by the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords to use in your search. Or, try some of the search words listed below.

Do video games have a negative impact on players?

  • Computer games social aspects
  • Video game addiction
  • Video games and children
  • Video games and teenagers
  • Video games psychological aspects
  • Video games social aspects

Is misrepresentation in the media harmful for society?

  • Journalism objectivity
  • Journalism political aspects
  • Mass media political aspects
  • Mass media social aspects
  • Press and politics

Are social networking sites good for society?

  • Internet social aspects
  • Online social networks
  • Social media
  • Social media political aspects

Should our online activities be private?

  • Internet law and legislation
  • Internet political aspects
  • Privacy, right of

Is technology making us more alienated, less sociable and less human?

  • Information technology psychological aspects
  • Information technology social aspects
  • Internet psychological aspects
  • Internet social aspects
  • Technology social aspects

Is file-sharing stealing?

  • Copyright
  • Intellectual property
  • Peer-to-peer architecture computer networks

Is television an effective learning tool for children?

  • Television and youth
  • Television in education

Reference Sources

Reference sources are a good place to begin your research. You will find objective, factual background information on your topic.

To access this database from off campus, you will need to log in with your Pipeline account information:

Books

Search the library catalog for books on your topic. Your search results will include articles as well. Limit to books by choosing the appropriate box from the menu to the left of the results.

Articles

Search for articles in the following databases. These resources will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.

  • Academic Search Premier This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 periodicals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete Provides full-text articles from over 450 journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
  • CQ Researcher An excellent source of pro/con information, containing single-themed reports on issues in the news. Provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of both sides of controversial issues related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
  • ERIC Comprehensive education database, providing access to education literature and resources, including hundreds of scholarly education journals.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context An excellent source of pro/con information, providing opinions and other information on hundreds of today’s hottest social issues. Includes continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
  • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection Includes nearly 560 full text publications covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

For a full list of library databases click here. Use the menu at the top of the page to choose databases by subject area.

Evaluating Websites

Finding good websites for college research can be challenging and time-consuming. Be sure to evaluate any websites you find on your own, using the P.R.O.V.E.N. Test for Evaluating Sources:

  • Purpose: The reason the information exists
  • Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs
  • Objectivity: The reasonableness of the information
  • Verifiability: The truthfulness and accuracy of the information
  • Expertise: The source of the information
  • Newness: The timeliness of the information

Credible Websites

  • Pew Research Center This nonpartisan fact tank informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
  • USA.gov The portal to all government information.