Theatre Arts 134 – Lima

Drawing of woman in elegant evening dress, holding fan.

Fashion drawing by John Held, Jr., n.d.

About this guide

This guide provides students with recommended resources for conducting research on costume design in Theatre Arts 134 with Professor Lima. Use the tabs to navigate through the pages of the guide.

Your Assignment

Working in a group, research dress from the time period you have been assigned.

Paper Writing Assistance

About SBCC’s Writing Center
The SBCC Learning Resource center writing tools online

Need more help?

If you need more help with research, ask a librarian! Stop by the Reference Desk, or contact a librarian by phone, text, or chat for more help. Find our contact information on the right side of this page.Contact Us

Survey

After the library research workshop for your class, please complete this survey to reflect on what you learned and provide feedback to the librarian (the CRN for your course is 62581).

Keywords

Sometimes the words you use to describe a topic are different from the words used in the sources available through the library catalog and databases. If you have trouble finding information on your topic, try some of the search words listed below or ask a librarian for help choosing the best keywords for your specific need.

  • clothing and dress
  • clothing and dress history
  • clothing history
  • fashion history

Print Reference Sources

Reference sources such as encyclopedias are a good place to begin your research. The following books are available in the Reference section, behind the Reference and Information Desk in the Luria Library:

  • The Dictionary of Fashion History — R 391.009 C971d 2010
  • Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion — R 391.003 S814e

Online Reference Sources

This resource is available online and will require your Pipeline account information when you access it from off campus.

  • Credo Reference A database that includes the full text of over 700 reference books.

Books

Search the library catalog for books on your topic. Your search results will include articles as well. Limit to books by choosing the appropriate box from the menu to the left of the results.

Articles

Search for articles in the following databases. These resources will require your Pipeline account information when you access them off campus.

Images

Use ARTstor to find images of works of art showing clothing from different time periods.

Videos

Use Alexander Street Press to find videos showing clothing from different time periods.

Evaluating Websites

Figuring out whether the information you find online is credible enough for college research can be challenging. Use the P.R.O.V.E.N. Test for Evaluating Sources to determine whether the sources you find are credible:

  • Purpose: The reason the information exists. Is the purpose to sell, to entertain, to inform, to teach, or to persuade? Do the authors and publishers/sponsors make their purposes clear? Is this source designed for general readers or academic readers?
  • Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs. Does it relate to your topic? Does it meet the requirements of your assignment? Is it too basic or too advanced?
  • Objectivity: The reasonableness of the information. Is it fact or opinion? Is it biased? Do the authors use strong or emotional language, or leave out important facts or alternative perspectives?
  • Verifiability: The truthfulness and accuracy of the information. Where does the information come from? Can you verify it in other sources? Are there citations or links to other sources? What do experts say about the topic?
  • Expertise: The source of the information. Who are the authors, publishers, or sponsors of the information? Are they experts, or has the information been reviewed by experts? Is it posted on a personal website or blog?
  • Newness: The timeliness of the information. When was the information published or posted? Is it up to date? Is your topic in an area that requires current information (such as technology or current events), or will older sources work as well?

How to Cite

MLA Citation Style from Purdue Owl

MLA Citation Style from Camosun College

APA Citation Style from Purdue Owl

APA Citation Style from Camosun College